York (PA) – Vintage proto-metal purveyors SPELLBOOK have released a lyric video for “Goddess,” a track from new album Deadly CharmsYou can check out the video at youtu.be/gZEUeAmb4_s

Deadly Charms is available on CD, digital, and vinyl formats via Cruz Del Sur Music. See the links below for streaming and purchase options.

CD (Cruz Del Sur Music Store): https://tinyurl.com/mpmf7fw6

LP (Cruz Del Sur Music Store): https://tinyurl.com/2s44x6dz

Bandcamp: spellbookband.bandcamp.com/album/deadly-charms

Deadly Charms on Spotify

“Incorporating a healthy mix of 70’s rock with the purity of metal at its essence, SpellBook conjure up a sweet style for their second album.” (9/10)

– Dead Rhetoric

“Deadly Charms is the kind of record I could throw on when Green Lung is too plodding, and Lucifer is too much of a downer. It’s a good moment for doom rock, all the sages coming together to light up the sky with a wiggly-fingered alakazam.”

– Toilet ov Hell

“Deserves a spot right with the classic albums of the past, as Deadly Charms sounds like it came right out of there.”

– The Metal Ambassador

 “Their hook laden riffs and solos elevate Deadly Charms beyond just a doomy Sabbath wanna-be band. They managed to take something old and make it fresh again.”

– Wormwood Chronicles

“Deadly Charms is a great album of old-school style hard rock which leans heavily on that proto-metal vibe.”

– Metal Digest

“40 minutes of old-school bloody heavy metal tinged with doom, which grooves and swings.”

– CGCM Rock Radio

“Deadly Charms is a fun and catchy album. SPELLBOOK’s musicianship and creativity is awesome.”

– Distorted Sound Magazine

“Certainly worthy of the attention of any self-respecting headbanger, hesher, burnout, or freak!”

– Defenders of the Faith

“Deadly Charms will surely bring emotions to many listeners forged in the 70’s and 80’s, a material that is fully enjoyed from start to finish.”

– Metallerium

 “They mix the proto-metal hard rock of the ’70s with the added heaviness and grit of the NWOBHM.”

– The Metal Crypt

“Another impressive offering from SPELLBOOK.”

– Metal Temple

“One of the better retro rock/metal albums I’ve heard this year.”

– Teeth of the Divine

The follow-up to 2020’s Magick & Mischief was recorded in February at Developing Nations in Baltimore, Maryland, with producer/engineer Kevin Bernsten. The album also marks the SPELLBOOK recording debut of their two new guitarists, Les Yarde and Patrick “Patty” Benton.

“The material has new life injected into it while still maintaining the adventurous ’70s hard rock sound we strive for,” says drummer Nick Zinn. “It certainly helped Les and Patty love Magick & Mischief and its no-rules approach. Yet, at the same time, Deadly Charms does seem a bit more focused. We love how the overall vibe has a more anthemic feel.”

According to Zinn, the lyrical themes on Deadly Charms lean much heavier on horror and reality than the fantasy and fiction approach found in Magick & Mischief. The David Thiérrée (BEHEMOTH, MORTIIS, IHSAHN)-created artwork capably showcases these topics.

“The cover depicts an open spell book spewing forth witches, devils and other ghastly things,” notes Zinn. “These are all subject matters within Deadly Charms songs. We’ve been fortunate to work with so many great artists over the years on different albums dating back to our WITCH HAZEL days and enjoy the excitement of a new artist on each project we do.”

Magick & Mischief was released in the thick of the global pandemic. While it put a premature end to the band’s touring plans, it immediately cultivated a feverish critical following. Teeth Of The Divine called it “one of the best and most original heavy metal albums that seems like it was recorded in the ’70s and just received an updated remastering.” At the same time, Toilet Ov Hell noted, “This record is stuffed to bursting with hooky, moody riffs, stuffed like a filing cabinet full of promising leads.”

The run-up to the release of Deadly Charms will find SPELLBOOK busy with a myriad of projects — including some much-desired plans to hit the road.

“We are working on shooting videos for a few songs off the record,” says Zinn. “Once the album is released, we really want to tour this time around. This new lineup has been gigging for a little while now and is eager to play these new songs anywhere and everywhere we can.”

Track Listing:

1. 1928
2. Rehmeyer’s Hollow [Video]
3. Goddess [Video]
4. Pandemonium
5. Her Spectral Armies
6. The Witch Of Riley Creek [Video]
7. Deadly Charms
8. Night Of The Doppelganger
9. Out For Blood


Nate Tyson – Vocals
Les Yarde – Guitar
Patrick “Patty” – Guitar
Seibert Lowe Jr. – Bass
Nick Zinn – Drums



Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »