Welcome to the 70’s-induced warm sound of STEW hard rock. The Swedes show their abilities to write great tunes and invoke the almighty power of the RIFF in their new single “Heavy Wings”, the first from their upcoming album, to be released in November. The single can be streamed and downloaded here.

Guitarist Nicklas Jansson states: ““Heavy Wings” is based on a strong groovy riff that Jansson came up with. While in the studio we tweaked it a bit and changed the chorus to make it more melodic“.

The trio is also releasing a line-in-studio video version of the song today. Check it out in UPRISING! Records Youtube page here or in one of our media partners, which premiered the video today.

Stew is a power trio heading from Örebro, Sweden, who began jamming together in late 2017. The band is taking their inspiration from the bluesy, hard-rocking bands of the 70s where it was all about making unpretentious music. The tight power rocking trio just loves to express their emotions through the amps, drums, and microphones.

On vocals and bass, there’s Markus Åsland, with his big soulful voice and strong melodies. On vibrant and expressive guitar is Nicklas Jansson, and on groovy tasteful drums Nicklas Dahlgren.

Shortly after self-releasing their first EP “Hot” they were contacted by Classic Rock Magazine that selected the track “Might Be Keeping You” to the Best Of The Year- issue. The EP got a lot of good attention from all around the world.

In October 2019 Stew released their full-length debut album on Ripple Music (US). In early 2020 the band did a well-received German tour and had a second one planned for summer 2020. But it was canceled because of the Coronavirus.

Stew is set to release their second full-length album, entitled “Taste”, on UPRISING! Records. The band has spent most part of 2020 recording and writing the songs. According to the members themselves they have put more time in to get every detail in the songwriting as well as the producing and studio recording just right. With this album, Stew is really taking the band in a more professional direction.

“Taste” will be released in LP and digital formats by UPRISING! Records on 12th November 2021.

Markus Åsland – vocals, bass
Nicklas Jansson – guitar
Nicklas Dahlgren – drums



Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »