A Unifying Prog Metal Journey of Reflection and Self-Discovery:
The Mourning release first video single Chaos Machine from upcoming album Hush

If you think of the most magical reason for founding a band, it’s most certainly a common passion for music, a common aspiration to use the power of music to move people, to inspire and make an impact on their lives in the most positive way. It’s a special bond between people that know how music can give a sense of purpose and meaning in life. This is exactly where US based prog metal pioneers The Mourning draw their energy from. What started out as a simple recording project of vocalist and composer Johnny Ray and drummer Jason Berlin (son of famous bassist Jeff Berlin) in Tampa, Florida, in 2017, became a journey of self-discovery, soon attracting kindred spirits until the band was complete with all-rounder Alex Nasla (ex Witherfall, producer, vocalist and keyboardist), Italian musician and composer Francesco Pinter (guitar), lead vocalist Eliana Blanchard​ and guitarist Phillip Colacecchi.

After the release of their quite experimental EP Theosis in 2018, in which the band embarked on a journey to discover their true sound and a message of their own, The Mourning are now ready to present their first full-length album Hush, to be released on June 24, 2024. It shines thanks to a much heavier emphasis on guitars, including the use of slap guitar, grooving riffs, angelic classical guitar, face-melting guitar solos and much more in the band’s sound that was originally highly influenced by Opeth, Steven Wilson and Haken, as they underline: “On this album we also took the harmonies to the next level with the soulful vocals of Eliana Blanchard, giving the songs a much richer harmonic sound and unique sonic identity.” The striking energy between the contrasting voices elevates the experience beyond the one-dimensional atmosphere of the typical, inviting the listener to join the band on their turbulent voyage, on which they combine the cold precision of progressive metal with raw emotional energy: “We are trying to give listeners insight with the backdrop of a virtuous soundscape that opens the mind to new ideas, concepts, and inner growth. Some albums take your hand on its journey – Hush takes you on an introspective journey of your self.”
And one thing is absolutely clear: This is only the beginning of a grand journey for The Mourning.

Leading the way is Chaos Machine, the first video single and album opener. We all know someone who seems to attract chaos; it just follows them wherever they go. Chaos Machine  posits that the reason can be found in those troubled souls’ inward nihilistic outlook that reflects to chaos outward. Check out the video for the song featuring a guitar solo by acclaimed guitarist Charlie Robbins (Syncatto) now:

Link to the video on YouTube:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aj1dUyQ2d5E
Get the single now:https://links.themourningmusic.com/chaosmachine

The Mourning’s first full-length album Hush is a prog journey influenced by the greats of progressive metal, an album of self-discovery, observations about the nature of existence, societal ills, and overcoming adversity – out June 24, 2024, and ready to pre-save now at:

https://themourningmusic.com/product/hush-cd/  (physical) and https://links.themourningmusic.com/hush-album (digital)

 Tracklist Hush:

1. Chaos Machine
2. The Mountain
3. He Cries
4. I Feel The Rain
5. Hush
6. The Wind
7. My Own Way
8. Cries Of The Mind
9. My Own Hell
10. Smooth Seas




Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »