“German metal with a mission and a message” — Kerrang UK

German modern metal outfit VENUES have shared the NSFW video for “Mountains” from their forthcoming new album Solace, out August 27 via Arising Empire. The album will be released on limited colored vinyl, as well. 

Watch the video for “Mountains” here.

In cooperation with videographer Marius Milinski, the story that began in NSFW videos for their previous singles “Rite of Passage,” “Shifting Colors,” and “Uncaged Birds” continues here.

“For me, ‘Mountains’ sums up the ups and downs of last year perfectly, but also the hope and confidence that the band gave me,” says singer Lela. “The song represents the inner struggle with myself and the resulting strength to grow out of it.”

From the depths of their deepest crisis, VENUESemerge victoriously, welcoming two new members: clean vocalistLela and guitarist Valentin. When former vocalist Nyves quit the band mid-tour, following the release of their pivotal debut Aspire (2018), the modern metal crew was shaken to the bone. Despite this situation, the remaining members refused to give up and tirelessly searched for new talent.

When guitarist Constantin witnessed Lela’s performance at — of all places — a Steel Panther show, the band found its new clean vocalist.

VENUES entered the studio with producer Christoph Wieczorek (Annisokay) to record Solace and the result is a massive sound with a metallic alloy of remarkable precision.

“We wanted to be more metal,” Robin comments. “There were some pop sensibilities of Aspire that we wanted to replace with rather the opposite.” Melody and punch-drunk heaviness, metal and alternative rock, zeitgeist and authenticity, barbed choruses and unleashed creativity: With their soaring sophomore release, VENUES fulfill every single promise they made on Aspire.

“2020 showed all of us how much the band is helping us keep our sanity,” Robin muses. “Almost the whole band went through minor or medium crises since the release of our debut. Relationships went sour, things ended and began. In times like these, our second album was the light at the end of the tunnel. Something we all could look forward to. Our music held our heads above water.”

It’s a leap, going from Aspire to Solace, and it’s a logical one.

10 songs.
10 exorcisms of negative energy.
 10 lifesavers.

“Razorblade Teeth”
“Whydah Gally”
Rite of Passage
Uncaged Birds
“Into the Fire”
“Down Below”
Shifting Colors
“Our Destiny”
“Deceptive Faces”

Lela | Clean Vocals
Robin | Shouts
Constantin | Guitar
Valentin | Guitar
Dennis | Drums

We Are One
Fading Away” 
Nothing Less”  
The Epilogue” 


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »