Dark Tunes Group
April 15, 2022
Playtime: 56:12

Aevum were founded in 2007 in Turin (Piedmont – Italy). One year later the EP “Celestial Angels” was released. Another EP and a single followed before the debut “Impressions” was released in 2014. In 2017 and 2020 the albums “Dischronia” and “Multiverse” were released. “Glitch” is thus the fourth album, of the Italians, who had started as a symphonic metal band. I could see the band live in December 2017, at the third Female Metal Fest in Meyrin (Geneva). And was thrilled by the performance.

Already when listening to the opener “Lullaby” you rub your eyes in astonishment. This is supposed to be Aevum? Industrial and Goth tunes dominate the sound. There is nothing to hear of Symphonic. This doesn’t get any better later with “Black Swan Theory”. Technically alienated vocals dominate over large parts of the song. With “Desire” there are hectic synths on the ears. “What’s In A Name” is more melodic but not necessarily better. But with “Holy Alix” the hecticness and disharmonies are back. And unfortunately, nothing changes in the following. In the instrumental title track “Glitch” you can hear a wild drumming. Probably the least embarrassing songs might be “La Signora dei Libri,” “Wings Over The Ocean,” and “I Wish I Had More Time.” The absolute low points of the album, however, are “#Jump” and the bonus song, the Lady Gaga cover “Poker Face”. 

I listened to this album with great expectations. Even after repeated listening, the disappointment is great. Where is the grandiose Opera soprano of singer Lucille, where the metal screams and growls of vocal partner Hydra. The latter is not even on the lineup list I have. Very sad, this change of style does not match my taste at all.

Aevum – 7 (Official Video):


Lucille – Vocals
Emanuel – Guitar
Lord – Guitar
Paul – Bass, Backing, Vocals
Ian – Samples
Richard – Synths, Vocals
TheNola – Drums


Valentina Tinetto – Guest Vocals on “What’s in a Name”
Fabio Privitera – Guest Vocals on “The Traitor”
Alessandro Shumperlin – Lyrics Cowriter on “7”

Track list:

  • Lullaby
  • Black Swan Theory
  • Desire
  • What’S In A Name
  • Holy Alix
  • Holy Alix
  • Glitch
  • La Signora Dei Libri
  • Lucretia
  • #Jump
  • Wings Over The Ocean
  • Austerlitz
  • I Wish I Had More Time


  • Poker Face (Lady Gaga – Metal Cover)
  • Album - 5/10
  • Cover Art - 8/10
  • Song Writing - 7/10


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »