Cradle Of The Wicked
Out: October 27th, 2023
Playing time: 38:55

Four years have passed since “Steelbound“, the debut album by Brazilian Hard Rockers Ignited. Guitarist Dalton Castro has lived in Sweden for several years and manages the band from there. So, it was logical that the second album “Cradle Of The Wicked” was also recorded and produced in Sweden. The guitarist recently wrote to me asking if I would also like to review the second album. As I already liked the debut very much, I naturally agreed.

The title track “Cradle Of The Wicked” is right at the beginning of the album. And the Brazilians really get going right away. In the best Judas Priest manner. No prisoners are taken on “The Overflow” either. Straight forward Heavy Metal. “At The Damned’s Hall” is then calmer. The banging riffs are very rhythmic. The vocals have also been toned down a little. Earworm danger. “Bloody Satisfied” is pure Power Metal. And it continues with a lot of variety with the Metal banger “Uncontrollable”, which partly ventures into Speed Metal realms. But then it also sounds anthemic again. And thus reminds a little of Hammerfall. “The Sewer Lords” is in the mid-tempo range, with beautiful melodies and a chorus to kneel down to. This is followed by the Power Ballad “Life Goes By”. Very much in the Savatage tradition. Want some Hard Rock? You can also hear that here with “Nightshift”. Ignited once again take no prisoners with the hard-hitting Heavy number “Tearing Down The Walls”. Thrash elements can be heard here, especially when the drums pound mercilessly. Finally, “Abyss Of Fear” gets anthemic.

“Cradle Of The Wicked” includes (almost) the entire spectrum of Heavy and Power Metal. At the same time, however, it seems self-contained. The sound is excellent and the songwriting is sophisticated. The extremely variable vocals of Denis Lima and the guitar work of Dalton Castro deserve special mention. This is by no means to diminish the achievements of the other two musicians. Ignited’s second album is a highlight of Heavy Metal.


Maurício Velasco – Drums
Dalton Castro – Guitars
Denis Lima – Vocals
Martin Bellucci – Bass

Track list:

  • Cradle of the Wicked
  • The Overflow
  • At the Damned’s Hall
  • Bloody Satisfied
  • Uncontrollable
  • The Sewer Lords
  • Life Goes By
  • Nightshift
  • Tearing Down the Walls
  • Abyss of Fear
  • Album - 10/10
  • Cover-Art - 8/10
  • Songwriting - 9/10


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »