Built To Last
Label: Metalapolis Records / SPV
Out: October 20th, 2023
Playing time: 59:26

At the beginning of 2017, keyboardist James Thorley founded the band Atlas, deeply rooted in the AOR and melodic rock of the 80s of the last century. But the band does not close itself off to modern Hard Rock, Metal and Progressive Rock either. Great bands like Journey, Toto and Asia are mentioned as references. The first EP “World In Motion” was released in the same year the band was founded. One year later, the debut album “In Pursuit Of Memory” was released. During the worldwide Corona Lockdown, the second album “Parallel Love” (2020) was released. Three years later, “Built To Last” is now ready for release. The band’s founder is responsible for mixing and production, while Grammy Award winner Thomas Johansson (Thundermother, The Night Flight Orchestra, Narnia) took care of the mastering.

It’s good fun, already with the opener “All Or Nothing”. Melodic Rock, in former times something like this would have been called stadium rock. Today this term is used less often. But here it fits like a glove. And the hit fireworks continue with “You’re Not Alone”. Strong guitar sounds, powerful drums and a singer who seems to have absorbed 80s Rock with his mother’s milk. Also “One More Night” offers the listener a journey back in time to years long gone. Bygone, but by no means forgotten. The ballad-like song “Unfamiliar Love” sets a wonderful point of rest. The highlight of the album is probably the three-movement work “Chasing Portraits”. Introduced by the AOR hymn “Lonely Hearts”. Part II “Closer To The Picture” is another highly melodic anthem. Here, besides the riffs, the keyboards often push themselves into the foreground. The finale is “Painted Memories”, an anthemic power ballad. Beautiful. The album ends with two more Stadium Rockers, “Bury A Lie” and “Best Is Yet To Come”.

“Built To Last” is an album that is fun to listen to from beginning to end. Even though the great time of AOR and stadium anthems is far in the past, we hear a great moment of this genre here. This album is a must have for all fans of the bands mentioned above.


Craig Wells – Vocals
Howie Little – Guitar
James Thorley – Keyboards
Chris Redfearn – Bass
Ryan Briggs – Drums

Track list:

  • All Or Nothing
  • You’re Not Alone
  • One More Night
  • Another Heartbreak
  • Tears
  • Unfamiliar Love
  • Just Like That
  • Chasing Portraits i – Lonely Hearts
  • Chasing Portraits ii – Closer To The Picture
  • Chasing Portraits iii – Painted Memories
  • Bury A Lie
  • Best Is Yet To Come
  • Album - 10/10
  • Cover-Art - 8/10
  • Songwriting - 9/10


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »