Burn the Gates: Interview and CD Review


Monica Redwine

I want you to think about a time when you heard a song for the first time and there was just something about them… something that told you that this song, this band, was different; that this song/band is about to become one of your favorites. That is exactly what happened to me when I first heard Burn the Gates last summer. From the second I heard “Ashes from the Grave” I was hooked, and I am happy to say a year later that their first album has been released and holy shit it is amazing!

The album, Blessed with This Curse, is 12 tracks and each one is incredible. I was asked if I had a favorite from the album but I sincerely cannot pick just one. As you can hear in the interview, I am not alone in that!

  1. Demon Twist
  2. Resentment
  3. Double Agent
  4. Unconfined Hope
  5. Anheuser
  6. Concave Pulse
  7. Enterprise
  8. Keppra
  9. Whiskey Best Friend
  10. Stay with Me
  11. Virgo
  12. Ashes from the Grave
  13. Achilles

There’s just something about this album, some sort of spark or magic about it—it’s so well-rounded and has such a rich, heavy sound about it. Maybe it’s just the music, or maybe it’s how well the members work together, but whatever it is, it makes for an album with a unique sound that you can listen to on repeat and never get tired of it. From beginning to end there is not a single song that disappoints, and I have been walking around for days now humming/making guitar noises to “Unconfined Hope”! “Keppra”, “Concave Pulse”, “Stay with Me”, and of course, “Ashes from the Grave”… I could listen to all 12 songs endlessly.

Burn the Gates is now a 5-piece band featuring Jesse Thompson on vocals, Wayne Wilkes on bass, Jeff Doelling and Carl O on guitars, and Brandon Baxley on drums. I had the honor of interviewing them last year as well (you can find that interview at https://mhf-mag.com/content/interviews/burn-the-gates-interview/ if you’d like to go back and check that out), and I am so glad that things have been progressing so well for them.

Make sure you check out them out at all the following:




http://www.burnthegates.com/      (you can find their album and band merch here!!)


I would just like to say thank you again to Burn the Gates for taking time to do this interview with me before their show on 3/30/2019! You guys are fucking amazing and I can’t wait to get to see you live someday!

MHF Magazine/Monica Redwine


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »