The Hunger
Burning V Records
June 15, 2021

Hellgrimm were founded in 2018 and the press text speaks of a power trio. However, the current album was recorded only by Erica Missey and Jerry Connor. Only for five bonus songs an extra drummer was engaged. However, these songs can only be found on the physical CD (or a digital EP). For live performances additional musicians are brought in. On the band photo these are obviously to be seen. Anyway. The Hunger is the band’s third release and also their first full length album. In the e-Mail. that I received, there is talk of Stoner Rock / Metal. So, let’s see what these two Texans are up to. Speaking of Texas. Wasn’t there something? That’s right. ZZ Top also come from this US state.

Hard bluesy riffs, accentuated drumming and a singer with a lot of soul in her voice. This is how the Texans present themselves in the title track “Hunger”. In addition, a solo of an extremely distorted guitar. The two really kicks your ass with their sound. With Wah-Wah guitars then begins “Monster In Me”. A little faster, a little harsher. And again hectic sounding extremely distorted guitars. In “Train” the guitars sound partly cleaner. But the hard riffs are still not missing. The song “Plague” reminds me of the early Black Sabbath. Lower tuned guitars, gloomy sound. Nothing against Ozzy, but Erica Missey could well have been at the microphone during this phase of the Brits. And band partner Jerry Connor delivers an amazing solo. For me the best song of the album. On the other hand, “Feeling Nothing” sounds almost a bit more mainstream. You could actually classify it as a (half) ballad. A musical splash of colour, as one would certainly not have expected at the beginning of the album. After a strong bass line, the Wah-Wah of the guitars determines the sound again in “Leatherface”. The vocals are rougher here in places, light growls can be heard. And again these almost sick sounding guitar hooks. Also, in “Deamon” the bass starts, which is later replaced by hard riffs. Harmonica pleasing? Can be heard on “Bottle I Drink.” No idea if this is a real one. But no matter, it provides a little bit of Wild West atmosphere. “Insidious” bangs then again properly from the boxes. Before the album ends contemplatively with the acoustic and completely rainy instrumental “Tears of Eve”.

One might not believe that Hellgrimm is only a two-woman/man outfit. That’s how multi-layered the sound of the album debut is. But both protagonists are multi-instrumentalists who know their profession. For live performances, as already mentioned, the musicians will have to get reinforcements. It’s a pity that I couldn’t test the live sound as well. But the Live EP is only available on the CD as a bonus.

Hellgrimm – “Plague”: https://youtu.be/d-XNvIUN6i4


Jerry Connor – Guitar, Bass
Erica Missey – Vocals, Drums, Bass

Track list:

  • Hunger
  • Monster In Me
  • Train
  • Plague
  • Feeling Nothing
  • Leatherface
  • Dreamon
  • Bottle I Drank
  • Insidious
  • Tears Of Eve
  • Album - 9/10
  • Cover-Art - 8/10
  • Songwriting - 8/10


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »