Myth of Origin
Sane Asylum
Out : January 27, 2023
Playing Time: 38:23

Myth of Origin were founded in 2018 with the aim of creating darker and heavier music. The result was available in 2019 in the form of the EP “Rites of Passage”. If my internet research is correct, the Dutch were supposed to play at FEMME 2020. However, the festival did not take place due to the Corona pandemic. So the band obviously had time to write new songs. In January 2023, the debut album “Sane Asylum” was released. However, there must have been some line-up changes in the last few years, if you compare the line-up from an announcement for FEMME with the list from the YouTube video (see below).

The title track “Sane Asylum” is also the intro of the album. You first hear keyboard sound gimmicks. Since I have a problem with this kind of introduction, I find it quite dispensable. But after nearly one and a half minutes, the Dutch really get going with the first regular song “Black Horizon”. Hard riffs, driven by propulsive drumming, lead into calmer waters. With the beguiling, melodic vocals of Claudia Wevers. But fast guitar hooks can still be heard in the background. And again and again the hard riffs. “In My Darkest Hour” starts quietly with clean guitars. Later, too, it sounds gloomily contemplative. During the chorus, powerfully distorted electric guitars come in. An interplay between quiet and heavy. But then “Gravity Of This Matter” gallops powerfully forward. Over The Edge” is a power ballad that, like the previous songs, spreads a dark atmosphere. In the second half there is a filigree guitar solo.  The Hunt” is the end of the calm. Here the guitars roar again. Towards the end, the song picks up speed, also thanks to the growls (Michiel van den Berg?). With “Screams In My Castle” the Dutch leave the midtempo area at times. Industrial sounds can be heard in the middle part. “Claim The Firstborn” is a Metal monster dominated by riffs and hard drumming. Instead, “The Void” is quieter again, even ballad-like in parts. With many clean guitar melodies. Reminds me in places of Art Rock with a dark background.

“Sane Asylum” is a varied album debut. Although catchy melodies can be heard again and again, Myth of Origin are far away from the mainstream. All in all, the basic mood is quite dark. With this, the band has achieved their goal mentioned at the beginning.

Myth of Origin – Claim the Firstborn (Official Video):


Rob Reijs – Drums
Marc van Herpt – Guitar
Claudia Wevers – Vocals
Michiel van den Berg – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Patrick Pullens – Bass

Track list:

  • Sane 
  • Asylum
  • Black Horizon
  • In My Darkest Hour
  • Gravity Of This Matter
  • Over The Edge
  • The Hunt
  • Screams InMmy Castle
  • Claim The Firstborn
  • The Void
  • Album - 8/10
  • Cover-Art - 7/10
  • Song Writing - 8/10


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »