Label: Art Of Melody Music, Burning Minds Music Group
Out: March 22nd, 2024
Playing time: 44:11

Nightblaze began in 2021 as the brainchild of Italian composer, multi-instrumentalist and producer Dario Grillo (Platens, Violet Sun), with the intent to create a solid, up-to-date sound with deep 80’s melodic rock influences.

This is what you can read in the press release. The “up-and-coming Italian rock star” (quote) Damiano Libianchi (Perfect View) could be won over as the singer. Dario’s brother Alex Grillo (Platens, Violet Sun, Verdemela) on drums and Federica Raschellà (Steel Tyrant, Evil Eyes) on bass completed the line-up. The self-titled debut album was released in March. According to the press release, it consists of a collection of songs that are deeply rooted in the AOR of the 80s.

Howling sirens? A fitting design feature for “Sudden Blast”. Especially when the actual song starts soon after. Pleasing Melodic Rock with a chorus to sing along to. However, I would have liked a little more power. Singer Damiano Libianchi makes a good job of it. “Take On Me” then starts without frills. Another mid-tempo rocker. You slowly realise that there is relatively little variety on the album. The structure of “You’re Gone” also only differs in nuances. During the vocals, the instruments hold back a little. Later on, you notice some melodic changes, but without slipping into Progressive Rock. “Diana” is another soft mid-tempo Rock song. The single release “Tell Me” is hardly an exception. It makes little sense to take a closer look at all the other tracks now, they are too predictable. One exception to this statement, however, is the soulful ballad “Daughter” at the end of the album.

OK, Nightblaze’s debut offers many beautiful melodies. Each song in itself is well-made AOR. But all ten songs follow the same pattern. So the album offers hardly any variety. That’s the big criticism. Nothing against the musical achievements of the musicians or against the basic orientation of the band. But the Italians still need to work on their varied songwriting.

Damiano Libianchi – Lead Vocals
Dario Grillo – Guitars, Keyboards & Backing Vocals
Federica Raschellà – Bass
Alex Grillo – Drums

Track list:

  • Sudden Blast
  • Take On Me
  • You’re Gone
  • Diana
  • Tell Me
  • Hold On To Me
  • Carry OnFading Away
  • Fragments Of Time
  • Daughter
  • Overall Rating - 7/10


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »