Label: AFM Records
Out: June 7th, 2024
Playing time: 48:02

Nightmare are one of the longest-serving, still active French Metal bands. They were founded in 1979 as a Punk Rock band. Before the turn of the millennium, however, there was a ten-year creative break. But the band has probably been active without interruption since 1999. Four years ago, the last album so far, ‘Aeternam’, was released, sung by the then new member Marianne ‘Madie’ Dien. However, just two years later, Barbara Mogore succeeded her. In the press release you can read the following. ‘Barbara helped NIGHTMARE to enter new dimensions and refine their sound.’ So, let’s listen to the new album ‘Encrypted’.

The opening song ‘Nexus Inferis’ is a real firecracker. Starting in the mid-tempo range, it then moves strongly in the direction of Speed Metal. New addition Barbara Mogore on the microphone is really convincing. Whether solo or later accompanied by epic choruses. And then there’s the first guitar solo, short and crisp. The tempo is similarly high on ‘The Blossom Of My Hate’. With Death and Thrash elements. And another filigree guitar solo, but also beautiful melodic lines. Here Barbara shows that she can also growl really badly (I assume it’s her). ‘Voices From The Other Side’ is a piece that is strongly driven by riffs. But also, always with a lot of melody. And the French don’t give themselves or the listener a moment’s respite. ‘Saviours Of The Damned’ is characterised by pounding and wildly propulsive drumming as well as occasionally hectic guitars. I don’t need to emphasise again that melodies are still the main focus. A chorus that you can quickly sing along to. As a contrast, there are once again evil growls to be heard. ‘Wake The Night’ is a rhythmic song in the mid-tempo range. Towards the end, it approaches high speed. It definitely has hit potential. The title track ‘Encrypted’ picks up the tempo again. The drums once again drive forward hectically. ‘Incandescent’ starts with slight industrial influences. But these are soon history. A mixture of Power and Death Metal dominates here. There is also a mixture of clear, powerful Rock vocals and nasty growls. ‘White Lines’ is a Power Metal anthem with a catchy chorus that is easy to sing along to. ‘Borderlines’ then tends towards Melodic Speed Metal again. The first version of ‘Eternal Winter’ comes from the 2009 album ‘Insurrection’. It was sung by Jo Amore at that time. This song was re-recorded last year with singer Barbara Mogore and the current line-up. The new version is very similar to the original but is much more powerful. Barbara presents herself as a worthy successor. A great Metal anthem to round off the album.

With ‘Encrypted’, Nightmare were able to maintain the level of their predecessor and even easily top it. Despite all the Death and Thrash influences, they manage to celebrate melodic Power Metal. The French go full throttle for almost fifty minutes and don’t shy away from Speed Metal either.

Nightmare – Saviours Of The Damned :


Barbara Mogore – Vocals
Yves Campion – Bass, Vocals
Franck Milleliri – Guitar
Matt Asselberghs – Guitar, Vocals
Niels Quiais – Drums

Track list:

  • Nexus Inferis
  • The Blossom of my Hate
  • Voices from the Other Side
  • Saviours of the Damned
  • Wake the Night
  • Encrypted
  • Incandescent
  • White Lines
  • Borderlines
  • Eternal Winter (2023 Version)
  • Album - 9/10
  • Cover-Art - 9/10
  • Songwriting - 9/10


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »