Do Or Die
Massacre Records
September 17th, 2021
Playing time: 42:20

If you search for Spitfire in the Encyclopaedia Metallum, you will find eight results. However, the protagonists who are the subject of the following are not among them. The press release of the label is also very cautious with information. But luckily the band has its own website, with a quite detailed biography. The band was founded in 2011 as a follow-up project to a Munich school band. So, there is a small anniversary to celebrate this year. Discovered at their third (!) live performance (as support for Serum114 at the scene club Backstage in Munich), the trio was soon able to land a record deal. Shortly afterwards they went on a German/Austrian/Suisse tour. Performances in larger arenas and festivals followed. Two EPs and two albums followed. Although the last release was six years ago. That was the year when the bass player said goodbye and the band was only a duo. But the time of silence is over. “The storm after the calm!” (Quote band website) is here. And with it the new album “Do Or Die”.

“Ride It Like You Stole It” – the title promises a lot. And it delivers. Spitfire rock right from the start. It’s hard to believe that the trio came out of the punk rock scene. Style? Melodic Hard Rock with a slight Stoner touch. The guitar solos interspersed again and again enhance the song. And it continues melodically with “Like A Lady”. You can watch the video on YouTube. What is striking is the brevity of the individual songs. A maximum of three and a half minutes. This means that some of the songs should find their way into the playlists of radio stations. They are certainly compatible with the masses, but without pandering to the mainstream. A good example is the title song “Do Or Die”. Short, tight, rocking, encouraging to dance. And as already mentioned, always top-class guitar work. I think the title “80s Rockstar” describes the band’s influences very well. Classic Hard Rock from the aforementioned era. With the ballad-like “Sacrifices”, Spitfire take it easy. This song is one of my favourites. The Tom Petty cover “Out In The Cold” is a reminiscence of the band’s roots. Another of my favourites. With “Another Mile” there is another calm point on the album. The scratchy vocals are partly underpinned by acoustic guitars. Plus, a blues-heavy guitar solo. And for the final song, the rocker “Too Much Is Never Enough”, they invited a well-known guitarist, Frank Pané (Bonfire, Sainted Sinners, Dark Blue Inc). With his solo, he provides another highlight.

Thanks to the already mentioned short song length, thirteen songs fit into the album playing time of just over 42 minutes. Brevity is the spice of life. Spitfire don’t waste time with long-winded intros, but always get to the point quickly. The sound of the album is top. No wonder when you know that no one less than Alexander Krull mastered the album. This is really the storm after the calm. And a successful comeback. But ten years after the band was founded, the musicians should think about these silly stage names.

Spitfire – Like A Lady: https://youtu.be/RkfUhBPFWUc


Dick Dropkick – Vocals, Guitars, Bass
Nikk Nitro – Drums, Backing Vocals

Aktuelles Lineup:

Dick Dropkick – Vocals, Guitars
Tony Törpedo – Bass, Backing Vocals
Nikk Nitro – Drums, Backing Vocals

Track list:

  • Ride It Like You Stole It
  • Like A Lady
  • Writings On The Wall
  • Do Or Die
  • 80s Rockstar
  • Death Or Glory
  • Sacrifices
  • Die Like A Man
  • Out In The Cold
  • Eye For An Eye
  • Can You Feel The Fire
  • Another Mile
  • Too Much Is Never Enough
  • Album - 8/10
  • Cover-Art - 8/10
  • Song-Writing - 8/10


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »