Interview With Red Cain | Alberta’s Power Progressive Metal Band

Born out of the vast prairies and snowy peaks of Alberta, Canada, RED CAIN is a modern progressive metal project with Eastern European roots. With intricate songwriting, powerful vocals, eerie soundscapes and strong electronic-backed groove, Red Cain champion a fluid, dynamic, and unique style centered around telling dark, conceptual Faustian sagas and constructing those into an unforgettable live experience, described as “Melancholy and Rage”. They self-released their debut self-titled EP (2016) to excellent reviews, and followed this up with two award-winning full-length albums, “Kindred: Act I” (2019), and “Kindred: Act II” (2021) telling a sprawling conceptual saga, and working with Sliptrick Records globally to have over 3500+ physical copies sold, as well as over 200,000 digital streams to date.

The band has hit #1 on the Canadian National Loud Charts on multiple occasions and is a 1x winner, 3x nominee for the Metal Recording of the Year at the YYC Music Awards. Music videos for “ZERO” and “Juliet”  have won 17 awards at international music festivals (Berlin Short Film Festival, Venice Shorts, Hollywood Art & Movie Awards + more). The band has a strong history of collaboration, with a highlight being their work with Juno Award-winning vocalist Kobra Paige of heavy metal band Kobra and the Lotus, on the track “Wing of the Crow”. With the upcoming 2023 album “NÄE’BLISS”, Red Cain takes a further step into cementing their status as innovators and has sights set firmly on another ambitious and conceptually exciting project.

The full-length album, ‘NÄE’BLISS’, was out on June 2nd and is inspired by the Wheel Of Time series. An homage to the legendary world of Robert Jordan’s fantasy epic.

It was a great pleasure to have Evgeniy Zayarny & Samuel Ridout on the Interview to talk on the album and much more of this awesome Journey of Red Cain. Check out the awesome Red Cain on the below YouTube video for the complete coverage of the Interview.

1. Fisher King
2. Blight
3. The Great Hunt
4. We Are Chaos
5. Sightblinder
6. The Man Who Can’t Forget (Part I)
7. Crane of Malkier (Part II)
8. Fires of Heaven (feat. James Delbridge)

Music Videos

The Band

Evgeniy Zayarny: Vocals
Samuel Ridout: Guitars
Andrei Buldan: Guitars
Kalie Yan: Bass/Vocals
Taylor Gibson: Drums

On Socials