BLACK STONE CHERRY are thrilled to announce their eighth studio album, ‘Screamin’ At The Sky’, set for release on Friday 29th September via Mascot Records. The opus will be available on White Solid Vinyl, Limited Edition Vinyl Boxset, CD and Digitally. Pre-order now over THIS location.

The band reveal another new track, ‘Nervous’, together with an accompanying official music video, to coincide with album pre-orders going live. Earlier this year, BLACK STONE CHERRY released the album’s lead single, ‘Out of Pocket’, which went on to be a crowd favourite on the band’s recent UK arena shows.

The Kentucky-based band, featuring Chris Robertson (lead vox/guitar), Ben Wells (guitar/bkg vox) and drummer John-Fred Young (drums/bkg vox), are joined for the first time on an album recording by ‘new’ bassist, Steve Jewell Jr. (ex-Otis). The band’s fanbase will be more than familiar with Steve, as he joined BLACK STONE CHERRY in 2021.

Discussing the new video, the boys tell us:
“Filming the video for ‘Nervous’ was an amazing experience. Like being on a movie set! We spent the day in an old paint factory-turned-production studio that had all of these amazing sets for TV and movies. The actor, Mateo Palmitier, did an AMAZING job as the lead character and it was such a cool experience seeing all of these visions come to life thanks to our director, Kyle Loftus and his incredible team. We love how the video will go between our performance, a great story line, and some killer visuals!”

Check out the video for ‘Nervous’ HERE!

Not only does this album announcement excite fans across the US and around the world, but also finds a special place amongst Canadian fans. This announcement comes off the heels of their recent Top 30 single at Active Rock radio in Canada for “Don’t Bring Me Down” (cover) and last fall’s cross-Canada tour opening for Steel Panther. “Don’t Bring Me Down” was only released to radio within the country. The Kentucky rockers also scored a Top 15 single in Canada with the track “Again” in 2020. On top of these impressive feats, the band has also seen coverage from Canadian press such as Bravewords, Soundcheck Entertainment, Canadian Beats, That Eric Alper, Sors-tu? and more!

With regard to the new album, BLACK STONE CHERRY continue:
“Every band that puts out a new record will tell you they are excited – as they should be. However, we may take the award for being the most excited about releasing a new album into the world! We can guarantee that it’ll move you in one way or another. We had a lot to say lyrically, musically, and sonically. We pushed ourselves to create not only something relevant, but also pushing the envelope to bend the trend. We are truly proud of this collection of songs and we hope you’ll celebrate it with us.”

‘Screamin’ At The Sky’ features all-new material written collaboratively while on tour, but when it came time to record, BSC decided to try something it’s always dreamed of doing: tracking an album at The Plaza Theater in Glasgow, Kentucky – a legendary 1020-seat venue built in 1934 that boasts meticulous acoustics. “Every time we played the Plaza we wondered what it would sound like to record drums there. We finally decided to put all our eggs in one basket,” Chris says. In June of 2022, the band rented the whole place, brought in all its recording equipment and its trusty engineer, Jordan Westfall. They set up the basement as the control room and the stage as the live drum room. Time between recording sessions and incredible room ambience have resulted in a career high watermark for BSC.

BLACK STONE CHERRY’s last album, ‘The Human Condition’, released in October 2020 was their sixth consecutive No. 1 debut on the UK Rock Albums chart. The album’s lead single, ‘Again’ was the band’s biggest single in over 10 years in America, peaking at #15, and their highest charting record ever in Canada, landing in the Top 15. The album racked-up 50 million streams worldwide. Over the years, BSC has both headlined and rocked 12,000-cap arena shows and shared the stage with a wide range of superstars, including Alter Bridge, Def Leppard, Gov’t Mule, Nickelback, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Bad Company, Mötorhead, Halestorm, Stone Temple Pilots, The Darkness, and ZZ Top. In 2018, BSC performed in front of 100,000 people at the Download Festival as main support to Guns N’ Roses and in 2021, the band played the venerated Royal Albert Hall, immortalized on 2022’s live DVD ‘Live From The Royal Albert Hall…Y’All’.

Plans are afoot for more dates later this year. Stay tuned.

1. Out Of Pocket
2. Screamin’ At The Sky
3. Nervous
4. When The Pain Comes
5. Show Me What It Feels Like
6. R.O.A.R.
7. Smile, World
8. The Mess You Made
9. Who Are You Today?
10. Not Afraid
11. Here’s To The Hopeless
12. You Can Have It All

Mascot Label Group is a 100% independent record company specialized in guitar-oriented music with a focus on rock, metal and (Blues) guitar. The company has offices in New York, London, Paris, Milan, Cologne, Stockholm and Rotterdam (headquarters).   Artists on the roster and in the catalog include 10 Years, The Cold Stares, Conquer Divide, George Benson, Black Stone Cherry, Joe Bonamassa, Bootsy Collins, Conquer Divide, Crobot, Dragged Under, Eric Gales, The Georgia Thunderbolts, Gov’t Mule, Beth Hart, Steve Lukather, Yngwie Malmsteen, OTHERWISE, Oxymorrons, P.O.D., Shaman’s Harvest, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Jake Shimabukuro, Robin Trower, VOLA, Volbeat, and more. Owned and operated labels include Mascot Records – Provogue – Music Theories Recordings – Cool Green Recordings – The Players Club – Funk Garage.




Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »