Tokyo’s death metal trailblazer DEFILED is now streaming their brand new opus, ‘The Highest Level,’ ahead of tomorrow’s release! The album can be streamed at THIS LOCATION.

‘The Highest Level’ can be pre-ordered HERE and pre-saved on streaming services HERE.

Moreover, 2023 marks a seminal year for DEFILED as it celebrates three decades since the release of their first demo and twenty years since the Japanese death dealers formed a union with Season of Mist!

The band will be celebrating this release with a headlining tour of Japan starting from tomorrow, April 28 until May 10. Then, then band will join HATE and VADER for three Japanese dates in June. The full itinerary can be found below!

The artwork for ‘The Highest Level’ was created by Wes Benscoter and can be found below along with the tracklist!

1. Off-limits (02:35) [WATCH]
2. Stealth (03:11)
3. The Highest Level (03:17) [WATCH]
4. Entrapped (03:16)
5. The Status Quo (02:32)
6. Warmonger (02:37)
7. Demonization (03:29)
8. Inquisition (03:39)
9. Madness Accelerated (02:11)
10. Delusion (02:54)
11. Only the Strongest Survive (02:54)
12. Red World (04:06) [WATCH]
13. The Last Straw (03:25)
14. Requiem (02:43)
15. The Speech (00:36)
Total (43:17)

DEFILED Live Dates (Japan 2023):
28 Apr 23 Yokohama (JP) El Puente
29 Apr 23 Tokyo (JP) Earthdom
30 Apr 23 Sendai (JP) Solfa
01 May 23 Koriyama (JP) Peak Action
02 May 23 Niigata (JP) Flower Pop
03 May 23 Nagano (JP) The Venue
04 May 23 Nagoya (JP) Daytrive
05 May 23 Kyoto (JP) Trust
06 May 23 Osaka (JP) Hokage
07 May 23 Takamatsu (JP) Toonice
08 May 23 Syunan (JP) Rise 
09 May 23 Fukuoka (JP) Reflex
10 May 23 Okayama (JP) Ark
09 Jun 23 Tokyo (JP) WWW (Vader + Hate)
10 Jun 23 Nagoya (JP) Holiday Next (Vader + Hate)
11 Jun 23 Osaka (JP) Zeela (Vader + Hate)

Photo taken by Shigenori Ishikawa

When it comes to straight-forward, bone-crushing death metal, Tokyo’s DEFILED delivers! ‘The Highest Level’ stays true to the traditional death metal formula, while the band’s gritty songwriting approach lends to its authenticity. DEFILED attempts to make no frills with this new full-length, instead speaking directly to the sensibility of old school death metal fanatics who are simply looking for some face-melting violence!

The early 90s was a crucial and formative time for death metal, a genre that started to predominantly emerge in the west with bands like Decide, Cannibal Corpse, Autopsy, Obituary, and Morbid Angel having a stronghold on America while Entombed, Cadaver, Carcass, and many others started to make waves in Europe and the U.K. But across the vast Pacific Ocean, DEFILED was taking a cue from its peers and became one of Asia’s leading purveyors during the genre’s early inception.

Upon releasing a series of demos and EPs during the mid-90s, the Japanese powerhouse finally released its first full-length, ‘Erupted Wrath,’ via Nightfall Records. Upon its release, the band broke out of Asia and started to make its debut in America across the extreme metal fest circuit – performing twice at Milwaukee Metal Fest as well as appearing at November to Dismember in Texas.

The band kept busy during the turn of the century while continuing to build their profile and dominate metal audiences around the globe and by 2003, they formed a union with Season of Mist, where the band has become one of the label’s most consistent death metal mainstays. Since then, the band has released six full-length albums, the majority of which are under the Season of Mist banner.

As the band celebrates thirty years since its legacy was formed, they are ready to unleash another pummelling offering onto the masses. ‘The Highest Level’ still carries the same time-tested formula that Defiled established three decades ago, remaining true to their identity, and still carrying the torch as one of the genre’s founding fathers.

Style: Old School Death Metal


Shinichiro Hamada: vocals, guitar
Yusuke Sumita: guitar
Takachika Nakajima: bass
Keisuke Hamada: drums

Recording studio: Blackroom Studio Naha, Okinawa (JP)
Mixing & Master: Studio Nest @ China, Japan / Kenji Kikuchi

Cover art: Wes Benscoter


Available formats:
CD Digipak
LP Vinyl in various colours


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »