Egeria – As Night Falls

Album Review By Rainer Kerber

From the Netherlands come and came a variety of Symphonic Metal bands. You do not have to say a lot about Within Temptation, Delain, After Forever or Epica. But also in the underground a lot is happening. I recently received an e-mail with promo material from Egeria. The band was founded in 2013 by singer Nicole. Together with some friends first songs of other bands were covered. Later the singer started writing own songs together with keyboardist Max. In 2017, the first EP “Requiem Draconis” was released with three songs. October will be followed by “As Night Falls”, which the band has produced on its own and will distribute itself.

Without much preamble, the Dutch rock the right way. The guitars frie, riffs are fired every minute. This is Symphonic Metal of a slightly harder pace. And singer Nicole de Ruiter sings in soprano but does not exaggerate the high notes. She also feels at home in the mezzo-soprano. That makes the difference to a lot of other bands of this genre. And the keyboard does not annoy fortunately. The hard riffs continue in the following. I really like “What Lies Beneath”, a nice midtempo hit, rhythmic riffs and a singer with a pleasant timbre. In addition, epic choruses, which give the song a hymnic edge. “The Rise Of The Fallen Queen” starts doomy, then you can hear a lot orchestral accompaniment. With “Shattered Mirrors” it has also managed a partly soulful and sometimes punchy power-ballad on the album. Towards the end, the song picks up speed and leaves the balladesque paths.

Are Egeria a Symphonic Metal band like many others? Yes and no. Certainly they mix many stylistic elements that are common in Symphonic Metal. Influences like Nightwish, Xandria or Kamelot are clearly audible. But they do not overdo the bombast. And there is no opera singing either. They are far from being imitators. Egeria have found their own sound. And very good musicians also convincingly implement this on the EP.


Max Vijgen – Keyboards
Nicole de Ruiter – Vocals
Maurice Schepers – Guitars
Joris Janssen – Bass
N.N. – Drums

Label: Self release

Out: October 25th, 2019

Playing time: 25:13

Track list:

  • A Night At The Mansion
  • What Lies Beneath
  • The Rise Of The Fallen Queen
  • Shattered Mirrors
  • Dawn Breaks

Rating : 8/10

MHF Magazine/Rainer Kerber


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »