Nightfear – Apocalypse

Album Review By Rainer Kerber

Hard rock and heavy metal have a long tradition in Spain. Nightfear from the capital city of Madrid was also founded in 2008. The debut “Inception” appeared four years later. With this they became known nationwide. After “Drums Of War” the third album “Apocalypse” will be released in February. In songwriting, the Spaniards were influenced by bands such as Judas Priest, Helloween, Iron Maiden or Gamma Ray. These influences naturally made people curious. So I listened to the album a little more intensely.

Nightfear really get going right from the start. “We Are Back” is introduced with a mini drum solo before the twin guitars rush ahead. The sound of the Spaniards lives from the two guitarists who cut out high-speed hooks in the best Helloween manner. At the pace you are also reminded a little of Dragonforce. But, the main focus is the powerful voice of singer Lorenzo Mutiozabal. The Parforce ride continues with songs like “Shine”, “A Better World” or “The Stranger”. Despite all the speed, the songs are highly melodic. It is an art that not many bands master. But the Spaniards can not only do high-speed, as they prove in the meantime at “Living Your Life”. Here they are a little more calmly and rhythmically. Would you like a portion of Bay Area Thrash? Then listen to the instrumental “Psichokiller”. “Through the Stars” starts with rhythmic drums, later the guitars roar again. The “Nuclear Winter” accompanied by air-raid sirens is probably the most unremarkable song, followed by another speed hit (“The Evil in You”). At the very end you can hear the longest song on the album, the eight-and-a-half-minute power ballad “Angels of Apocalypse”. The chirping of birds, the sound of waves and horse neighing at the beginning. Acoustic guitars and chanting. The first few minutes have a strong country and western edge. But the song is developing. Melodic riffs provide power. In the second half, the song leaves the ballad-like paths. The musicians increase the pace. What follows is an amazing metal anthem. This is by far the best song on the album.

The new year is already full of highlights. And the Madrilenians from Nightfear have a big part in it. With “Apocalypse” they produced an outstanding album. I can only recommend this to any metal fan.

Nightfear – We Are Back:


Lorenzo Mutiozabal – Vocals
Manuel Moreno – Bass
Ismael Retana – Guitar
Ángel Fernández – Guitar
Osckar Bravo – Drums

Label: Fighter Records

Out: February 02nd, 2020

Playing time: 58:08

Track list:

  • We Are Back
  • Shine
  • Living Your Life
  • A Better World
  • The Stranger
  • Psichokiller
  • Through the Stars
  • Nuclear Winter
  • The Evil in You
  • Angels of Apocalypse

Rating : 9/10

MHF Magazine/Rainer Kerber


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »