Scattered Storm (ft. members Pissing Razors) Draw Listeners In With “Under The Fire” Off Debut EP “Oblivion”

Video Premiere via NewFuryMedia

Debut EP “Oblivion” Out Now via Blood Blast Distribution

The Texas supergroup Scattered Storm released their debut EP “Oblivion” earlier this July. To complement that release, they have a new lyric video for the track “Under The Fire”.  

The politically-charged single lyrically touches upon a recent shooting by a racist that happened in the band’s hometown of El Paso. They share more details about the musical work on the track:

“Musically it began with Jay using an eight-string to create syncopated riffs that melted into a steady groove of legato slides on the guitar. Then transitioning to machine riffs to Mediterranean landscapes in the middle with climaxing vocals making a segway to the ethereal brutal ending.”

The band expects a good reception to this initial offering, due to the catchy hooks and memorable vocals. The song has enough passages to keep the listener interested, plus the lyrics have some meaty social and fantasy content that pairs up well with the sonic landscape they have created musically.

Scattered Storm has contrived futuristic heavy music with a lot of ambiences, and while this EP itself is not a concept record, the content combines well with each other. The tracks flow well from one to the other creating a nice passage to the end.

The lyric video for “Under The Fire” can be seen and heard via its premiere on NewFuryMedia HERE.

The EP “Oblivion” is available now on all digital platforms via Blood Blast Distribution – SpotifyApple MusicAmazon.

Track Listing:
1. Aeon Flux (3:40)
2. Under The Fire (4:03)
3. Kingslayer (4:43)
4. Empty (4:23)
5. Necronomicon (3:16)
6. Scattered Storm (3:35)
EP Length: 23:41

Band Line Up:
Drums, Keyboards and Samples: Jay Arriaga
Guitars: Kevin Armstrong
Live Bass: Eddie “Razor” Garcia
Vocals: Andre Acosta

For more info:

Scattered Storm hails from El Paso, Texas, USA and is a state supergroup comprised of seasoned musicians Andre Acosta and Ed Razor from Pissing Razors fame with band founders Jay Arriaga (No Life on Earth, Years of Cold), and Kevin Armstrong (Mondoshawan, Section 6). Their music is very dark, futuristic and heavy, but also has a lot of ambience.

Formed in 2019, the band has been polishing itself since and decided on an ultimate direction to go in. From the beginning, there was a very clear understanding of every detail they wanted to incorporate. From the very tuning of the 7 and 8 string guitars and the very specific tonality, they produce the ambience provided by the keyboards to layers and layers of vocals to really convey Acosta’s sound. This is all finished off with the main focus, that catchy riff and rhythm to have the songs stay on people’s minds and headbanging of course. Gotta have headbanging.

A Scattered Storm song begins with Arriaga and Armstrong exchanging riffs, with an emphasis on a technicality, but never losing the groove. After the song is polished, it goes to Acosta who applies the fantastic to the real world through the vocals.

When Scattered Storm hits the stage, the audience can expect a combination of the primal vs the futuristic as described in the lyrics and song title names. In the summer of 2021, they are unleashing their debut EP “Oblivion” via Blood Blast Distribution powered by Nuclear Blast.


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »