Swiss progressive death metallers Kassogtha release new single ‘Awake’ feat Anna Murphy (Cellar Darling) 

New album, rEvolve, out now

“Packed with everything needed for an avant-metal behemoth” – Metal Hammer

Credit: Yvan Alvarez

Young Swiss progressive death metallers Kassogtha have released a new, spiced-up version of their single ‘Awake’, featuring Anna Murphy (Cellar Darling, ex-Eluveitie) on guest vocals and hurdy-gurdy. 

Watch ‘Awake feat. Anna Murphy‘ here:
Stream ‘Awake feat. Anna Murphy‘ here:

The original version of ‘Awake’ features on the band’s new album rEvolve, which you can order here:

Vocalist Stephany comments: “‘Awake’ is a song about hope and recovery, taken from the 3rd and last chapter of our concept album rEvolve. With its very proggy atmosphere, we had no doubt that Anna would be the perfect fit for joining us on this song. She brought in her personal touch, contributing the hurdy-gurdy and her exceptional vocal harmonies. We previously had the chance to work with Anna on the recording of our first EP in 2019, and then toured with the band she fronts – Cellar Darling in 2022. She, as well as the rest of Cellar Darling, have been an inspiration to us over the years, so we were honoured when she agreed to do ‘Awake’ with us.”

Kassogtha place authenticity and sincerity above smoke and mirrors: a genuine metal band for true metal fans that takes the genre further without abandoning its core ingredients. From PinkFloyd to GojiraKassogtha’s no-nonsense brand of groovy progressive death metal combines a variety of influences to create a steamrolling fusion of irresistible riffs, neck-breaking drums and a vocal range covering devastating growls and ethereal melodies.

In November 2022, these fast-rising progressive death metallers emerged from Fascination Street Studios in Sweden with guns blazing and released their second album rEvolve. The songs were perfected with producer/recording engineer David Castillo (CarcassOpethLeprous) and mixing engineer Linus Corneliusson (IhsahnAmorphis). The album release was followed up by a UK tour with Cellar Darling and a mostly sold-out tour with Avatar in Europe. Having also shared the stage with the likes of Sirenia, and TheAgonist across Europe, Kassogtha recently performed with Triptykon, at which they filmed their ‘Complacency’ video.

Kassogtha was brought to life by vocalist-lyricist Stephany and chief songwriter Morty in Geneva, Switzerland. The band’s debut album A New World to Come (2017) was followed by their sophomore EP The Call (2019), where Kassogtha showcased their musical diversity with an edgy cover of PinkFloyd’s ‘Welcome to the Machine’.

On the band’s new concept album rEvolveStephany conquers her inner demons and tells the story of an endless self-destructive cycle of fear, anxiety, and jealousy. In a world that normalises negativity, we have forgotten how to be ourselves — and following a pandemic-enforced long, hard look at humanity and society, this is Stephany’s journey of dealing with these emotions. This album is a perfectly timed release valve for two years of isolation, anxiety and grief — a furious expression of frustration with your own inner demons.

For more: | | |


1: The Infinite
2: Before I Vanish
3: Drown
4: Venom
5: Eclipse
6: Complacency           
7: Awake 
8: Plume
9: Save Us


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »