The Art Of Letting Go
Label: Eclipse Records
Out: March 29th, 2024
Playing time: 23:13

ANA are a very new band. Founded in Melbourne (Australia) in 2023, singer Anna comes from a small community near the Caucasus Mountains and has a classical vocal training. Her bandmates are seasoned musicians who have previously gained experience in other bands. In October, the musicians signed a worldwide record deal with the US label Eclipse Records. And in March, the debut EP “The Art Of Letting Go” is released via this label.

It is good to hear that classical vocal training does not necessarily mean operatic soprano. You can already enjoy Anna Khristenko’s clear Rock voice on “I’m Not The One”. Heavy riffs and rhythmic drumming, sometimes with double bass, underpin the vocals. There are also filigree guitar solos. Josh Mak shows his skills here. There is also a Hammond solo. Matt Williamson hits the keys for this one. The positive impression continues with “Scars”. At first the guitars fry, keyboards and hard drumming kick in. The bass provides pronounced low tones. And Anna continues to sing in mezzo-soprano. “Ouroboros” starts again with guitar hooks. Later on, the song is also extremely pleasing and moves in the mid-tempo range. The chorus is easy to sing along to. “Sirens” starts as a beautiful ballad. Anna is initially accompanied by keyboard strings before the song later develops into a stomping rocker. With huge keyboard tapestries. But also with another guitar solo and Double Bass attacks. ANA have produced an impressive video for “Moth”. The first half of this song is also a ballad in which the singer is only accompanied by electric piano. In the middle section, the band really picks up speed before the end becomes balladlike again. With a calm piano outro.

“The Art Of Letting Go” is a successful debut EP. Melodic Symphonic Metal in which the band do without excessive bombast. Mezzo-soprano Anna Khristenko and guitarist Josh Mak are particularly impressive. But their fellow musicians also show a great skill. For a debut album, ANA should think about a complete (power) ballad. And perhaps raise the level of heaviness a little.

Anna Khristenko – Vocals
Josh Mak – Guitar
Tory Giamba – Bass
Cleveland Beckford Gonzalez – Drums
Matt Williamson – Keys

Track list:

  • I’m Not The One
  • Scars
  • Ouroboros
  • Sirens (Remastered)
  • Moth
  • Overall Rating - 8/10


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »