The Dark Side Of Atlas
Label: Inverse Records
Out: April 26th, 2024
Playing time: 13:37

The Helsinki-based Melodic Metal band Averlanche, founded in 2017, has released a sequel to their second album ARCTIC ATLAS, released in 2023.

At least that’s what the email for the promo says. But it’s not entirely correct. The songs on the EP can all also be found on ‘Arctic Atlas’. The album version of ‘She & The Dark Winter’ kicks things off. The other three songs – alternative versions of tracks from the album – are not really new either. These were recorded between November 2022 and January 2023, with guest vocalist Mikael Salo (Metal De Facto, Dyecrest and Everfrost). However, they didn’t make it onto the album at the time. However, as the band considers them to be very good versions, they have now been released on the EP ‘The Dark Side Of Atlas’.

The EP starts with the album version of ‘She & the Dark Winter’. I said something about the powerful riffs in the album review. For me, ‘Atlas of Hearts’ was one of the best songs on the album. Mikael Salo’s vocals add a special touch to the sound. And ‘Dark Side’? This is probably more about the vocal contribution. Also ‘Arctica’ was one of my album favourites. You can enjoy Rebecca’s voice in the ballad-like introduction. But then it really gets down to business and Mikael Salo takes over the vocal part. He also sings ‘She & the Dark Winter’ anew. The instrumentation is no different to the album version.

The only new thing about the sequel to the album is that Mikael has now taken over the vocal parts instead of Rebecca. It would have been desirable if the sound had also been adapted to the respective singer. And I had also expected a real duet between the two. Mikael Salo’s interpretation certainly makes the songs sound a little different. But is that enough for a separate EP? It would probably have been better to put these three versions on the album as bonus tracks.

Averlanche – She & The Dark Winter (Lyric Video): https://youtu.be/slItutAcXHg?si=YyqIRz1ojostjyae


Rebecca Spörl – Vocals
Otto Haalahti – Guitar
Joona Tirkkonen – Bass
Antti Kopra – Keyboards
Henri Tenhunen – Drums

Mikael Salo – Vocals

Track list:

  • She & The Dark Winter (Album Version)
  • Atlas Of Hearts (Alternative Version) feat. Mikael Salo
  • Arctica (Alternative Version) feat. Mikael Salo
  • She & The Dark Winter (Alternative Version) feat. Mikael Salo


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »