Fallen Sanctuary
Label: AFM Records
Out: June 24th, 2022
Playing time: 48:00 (01:01:47 inkl. Instrumental-Songs)

It sounds like a fairy tale from long ago. Two bands go on a European tour together. The masterminds of both bands sat together in the tour bus after the shows and talked. They noticed a lot of similarities in their musical tastes. But that’s a modern fairy tale. Happened in 2018 on a joint tour of Serenity and Temperance. And the two protagonists are singer Georg Neuhauser and guitarist Marco Pastorino. And what could be more obvious than to form a new joint band and start songwriting. And now “Terranova” by Fallen Sanctuary is on the turntables.

The title track, “Terranova”, could come from either a Temperance or a Serenity album. For the latter, it would definitely be one of the faster and harder tracks. And for the pure Temperance sound, the keyboards are missing. A speedy start – high-speed Power Metal. With “Now And Forever” the guitars really fry at the beginning. And hardly any speed is taken away. Typical for the bands of the two masterminds are the catchy sing-along choruses. With “Broken Dreams” there is a real Serenity feeling, with a slightly poppy edge. On the other hand, “Rise Against The World” really gets going. Especially drummer Alfonso Mocerino does a great job here. Paice is only interrupted for a short time, then Georg Neuhauser’s singing comes into its own. “To The Top” is somehow reminiscent of the Swedes from Eclipse. From my point of view, it could be a hit single for Rock radio stations. After that it goes on rapidly with “Destiny”. Here, the throttle is fully stepped on again. “I Can’t Stay” is a beautiful acoustic ballad. And with “Trail Of Destruction” it becomes anthemic. Towards the end, the guitar master shows off his skills.  “No Rebirth”, like many other songs before it, invites you to headbang. Shortly before the end, the drums blast out of the speakers again with “Bound To Our Legacy”.  And pushes the bandmates to a high speed. “Wait For Me” is the ballad to end the album. The vocals here are also accompanied exclusively by acoustic guitars. The track list in the press release lists three additional instrumental versions, but I didn’t have them.

Certainly on “Terranova” you can hear Georg and Marco’s main bands on every corner. Often the heaviness and speed of Temperance, but without the synth infatuation. The love of beautiful melody lines of Serenity. But the album is more than just a simple layering of the sounds of both bands. Not much needs to be said about the musical qualities of the musicians. Exceptional singer meets blessed guitarist. Bass playing and drumming are also convincing. It remains to be seen whether the two band founders will still find enough time to work together in the post-Corona era. If Georg Neuhauser is to be believed, we don’t need to worry about that.

The songs for our second release are all ready, just waiting to be recorded!

Fallen Sanctuary – Terranova (Official Music Video): https://youtu.be/6JbKdfeOLLA


Georg Neuhauser – Vocals
Marco Pastorino – Guitar
Alfonso Mocerino – Drums
Gabriele Gozzi – Bass

Track list:

  • Terranova 
  • Now And Forever
  • Broken Dreams
  • Rise Against The World
  • To The Top
  • Destiny
  • I Can’t Stay
  • Trail Of Destruction
  • No Rebirth
  • Bound To Our Legacy
  • Wait For Me (Bonustrack Limited)
  • Now And Forever (Instrumental Version)
  • Rise Against The World (Instrumental Version)
  • To The Top (Instrumental Version)
  • Album - 8/10
  • Cover-Art - 7/10
  • Songwriting - 9/10


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »