Silver Tongue
Label: Metalapolis Records
Out: June 21st, 2024
Playing time: 50:34

‘Silver Tongue’ is the fifth album by Hard Rockers Maverick, founded in 2012 by brothers Ryan and David Balfour in Belfast (Northern Ireland). The debut album ‘Quid Pro Quo’ was released in 2014, followed by further releases at regular intervals. The current album was recorded in various studios. This made it possible to integrate a number of new influences, styles and techniques. The press release speaks of a fat and unique Hard Rock sound. So, let’s be surprised.

‘Puppet Show’ – bass line and guitar, that’s how the Northern Irish start the album. Beautiful Melodic Hard Rock. And with Dave Balfour, they have a singer in their ranks who has probably absorbed Rock with his mother’s milk. Plus, a great guitar solo. A video clip was produced for ‘Sweet Surrender’. Nice Melodic Hard Rock – but I’ve already said that. ‘Daywalker’ then comes out of the speakers a little harder and more rhythmic. A great power ballad follows with ‘Lorelei’, which, after a quiet start, increases in heavyness in the middle section. But ‘Halfway To Heaven’ puts the pedal to the metal again. ‘Evenfall’ stomps along very rhythmically in the mid-tempo range. ‘Bloody Mary’ begins with light industrial sounds. But it quickly turns into a mid-tempo stomper. And it continues like this. Whether it’s ‘Time’, ‘Hideaway’, ‘Do Or Die’ (with a powerful bass line) or ‘Cheyenne’ – Maverick present Hard Rock that’s fun. Sometimes a little quieter in the mid-tempo range, then again with a slightly higher tempo. The final song, ‘We All Die Young’, is ballad like again, sometimes with slightly faster sections.

On their fifth studio album, Maverick offer a collection of Melodic Hard Rock songs. In the tradition of the great Hard Rock bands of the eighties. Maverick show a fine hand for beautiful melodies. And the musicians’ skills shine through again and again in the many solos. The album is therefore a complete success.

Maverick – Sweet Surrender:


Dave Balfour – Lead Vocals
Ryan Sebastian Balfour – Lead Guitar, Backing Vocals
Ric Cardwell – Lead Guitar, Backing Vocals
Richie Diver – Bass, Backing Vocals
Mike Ross – Drums

Track list:

  • Puppet Show
  • Sweet Surrender
  • Daywalker
  • Lorelei
  • Halfway To Heaven
  • Evenfall
  • Bloody Mary
  • Time
  • Hideaway
  • Do Or Die
  • Cheyenne
  • We All Die Young
  • Overall Rating - 8/10


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »