Rage Of Light
December 08th, 2021
Playing time: 46:34 / 01:01:45 (With bonus)

Many years passed from the first idea to the actual founding of the band. As early as 2007, singer and keyboarder Jonathan Pellet thought about founding a band that would combine influences from Trance Metal and Melodic Death Metal. But since he was working full time in another band at the time, it took until 2015 for him to realise this idea. He was able to win Melissa Bonny as singer. Guitarist Noé Schüpbach also joined the band. Rage of Light (ROL) were born. The first EP “Chasing A Reflection” was released one year later, followed by the debut album “Imploder” (2019) via Napalm Records. The band’s popularity was growing. But then the singer left the band to pursue other musical projects (Ad Infinitum. Malefistum). A replacement was quickly found. The second album “Redemption” was already sung by Martyna Hałas. Let’s hear how the new singer is doing.

There is no separate intro. But the keyboard introduction to “Iciness” does take some time. But after about one and a half minutes this contemplative Trance phase is over and drums and guitars thunder out of the speakers. Newcomer Martyna Hałas initially impresses with her powerful clear vocals. But soon she screams everything to the ground. You don’t hear such abysmally evil growls very often. The double bass sets the pace. Underneath lies a trance-typical keyboard carpet. “2.0” then starts much more calmly. Martyna can also prove her vocal qualities here. That was just the calm before the storm. It continues in the best Death Metal manner. Later there is a growler competition between the female singer and band founder Jonathan Pellet. Who can do it more angry. From my point of view, Martyna can win this duet (duel) by a narrow margin. Techno Trance also briefly at the beginning of “Crusade For The Sun”, where especially hectic synths and the fast drumming set the tempo. Here you can bang along beautifully. On “Lead The Riot”, the Swiss take it a bit calmer again. In addition to fast, forward-pushing phases, this song is often in the midtempo range. “Chasing A Reflection” literally carries the listener away. Here, too, Martyna and Jonathan growl in a duet. But the singer also knows how to impress with her rocking voice. “Exploder” is then extremely hectic. And all instruments from guitar via drums to keys join in. Speed Trance Death Metal – does such a thing exist? If not, it would have to be invented. “Breaking Infinity” lives from the filigree keyboard melodies, which are counteracted by powerful bass lines and heavy drumming. Despite all the harshness and viciousness, “Aspiration” also has an anthemic character. A ballad at the end? That’s exactly what “Beyond” offers. A song that doesn’t seem to fit with the rest of the album. Almost! At first, Martyna Hałas can demonstrate the full range of her singing voice, accompanied by enchanting synth sounds. But here, too, it is not possible without the bitterly angry growls. At the very end, it gets really harsh again, even if only for a short time. As a bonus, three songs follow in instrumental and rearranged versions.

For many bands, a change at the microphone means a big musical and often also qualitative break. Not so with Rage of Light. Martyna Hałas is more than just a replacement for Melissa Bonny. Her rock voice is powerful and extremely variable. And the growls are even more angry. With “Redemption”, the Swiss have produced a thrilling second album. You can certainly expect a lot more in the future.

Rage of Light – 2.0 (Official Video): https://youtu.be/mYZP3bve9zA


Jonathan Pellet – Vocals, Keyboards, Drum programming
Noé Schüpbach – Guitars, Bass
Martyna Hałas – Vocals

Track list:

  • Iciness
  • 2.0
  • Crusaders for the Sun
  • Lead the Riot
  • Chasing a Reflection
  • Exploder
  • Breaking Infinity
  • Aspiration
  • Beyond
  • Lead the Riot (Instrumental Version)
  • Breaking Infinity (Instrumental Version)
  • 2.0 (Instrumental Version)
  • Album - 9/10
  • Cover-Art - 8/10
  • Song Writing - 8/10


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »