Skipping Stone
Out: November 24th, 2023
Playing time: 27:37

Skipping Stone is an explosive, award winning, hard rock band form Louisville KY. Formed in 2020 they have quickly gained a large following, commanding attention with their powerful melodies and attention-grabbing hooks.

This can be read in the band’s electronic press kit. You also learn that they have opened for bands such as Puddle of Mudd, Escape, Buckcherry and Plush. That’s about it then. Several EPs were released in 2022. An album was probably intended for 2023. However, another EP (“ONYX”) was released. And I had a listen to this one.

The Kentucky guys really get rocking with “Burn It Down”. Vocally, powerful Rock vocals alternate with growls. Beautiful guitar hooks round off the song. “Chasing Ghosts” takes things up a notch. Old school Hard Rock blasts out of the speakers. The three guitars really come into their own here. “Straightjacket” is a beautiful ballad that is characterised above all by the clean guitar sounds. Here, too, you can enjoy the interplay of the guitars. But you don’t have to do without heaviness and growls either. For me, this is the highlight of the EP. You can see why “Monster II” has the addition “II” when you look at the band’s discography. ” On “Monsters Of Men” there is the first part. The second part seems a little more compact and harder played. “Vertigo” marks the end of the regular part of this EP. And is the second ballad. This is followed by two radio editions of “Monster II” and “Straightjacket”. The same length as the originals, and both versions sound pretty much the same. I can’t understand the point of different editions anyway. And this one even less so.

So, let’s just look at the first five tracks of “ONYX”. Three Hard Rock bangers and two ballads. Rocker heart, what more could you want. A very good EP. Listening to it inspired me to listen to the band’s other releases as well.

Skipping Stone – Straight Jacket:


Jordan Carlson – Vocals, Guitar
Thomas Hicks – Vocals, Guitar
Kelly Hood – Guitar
Patrick Robb – Bass
Dan Illes – Drums

Track list:

  • Burn It Down
  • Chasing Ghosts
  • Straightjacket
  • Monster II
  • Vertigo
  • Monster II (Radio Edit)
  • Straightjacket (Radio Edit)
  • Overall Rating - 8.5/10


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »