The Warning
Keep Me Fed
Label: LAVA / Republic Records
Out: June 28th, 2024
Playing time: 38:41

They are being labelled as the next Rock sensation. The Mexican band The Warning. The sisters Daniela, Paulina and Alejandra Villarreal from Monterrey in the north-eastern state of Nuevo León decided to make music together in 2013. And as is usual with young bands, they started by covering big bands from the Metal scene. The version of “Enter Sandman” (Metallica) achieved an enormous response on YouTube. Several albums were subsequently published. The debut “XXI Century Blood” was released in 2017. They have been under contract with Lava Records since 2020. Released in June, “Keep Me Fed” is the fourth album by the three sisters.

After the guitar roars out of the speakers on the opener “Six Feet Deep”, the bass and extremely powerful drumming kick in shortly afterwards. The pressure is only reduced a little during the vocal verses. But the chorus is full of energy. The accompanying video shows some disturbing film sequences, objects fly through the air and a lot of disorder is created in the rooms. Even “S!CK” starts with hard drums, which continue throughout the entire song. A certain alternative flavour is evident here. “Apologize” starts immediately with vocals backed by guitars. And Paulina is once again hard at work on the battery. Apart from a few quiet passages, the low notes dominate. On “Qué Más Quieres”, the sisters sing in their mother tongue, Spanish. Some might call that exotic. But it’s not unusual. Many Spanish bands also sing in their native language. And that fits. “MORE” offers a rollercoaster of emotions. In addition to quieter (vocal) passages, there are parts where the three of them literally explode. The discreet backing vocals stand in complete contrast to this. “Escapism” does not exude the same energy. This song is much calmer than anything heard so far. A point of calm on this album. And the trio follows up with another one. “Satisfied” is dominated by a bass line. “Burnout” then sounds funky. Here, too, the bass often dominates. After a short intro, things get harder again with “Sharks”. Quiet and powerful passages alternate. The vocals seem a little hectic at times. This also continues with some of the guitar passages. On the other hand, “Hell You Call A Dream” gets down to business again. Bass lines are supported by heavy guitar work. The vocals are very catchy. “Consume” is a little quieter. But the drums pound and the guitars roast. The song is very rhythmic and encourages you to bob your head along. Despite the heavily distorted electric guitar, “Automatic Sun” seems rather unspectacular. But if you listen more closely, there are some beautiful melodic arcs and impressive vocals.

“Keep Me Fed” is a successful album. Shredding guitars, strong bass and very powerful drumming are The Warning’s trademark. And this can be found in every single song, which therefore have a high recognition value. The songwriting is very varied. So, the listener never gets bored. The Villarreal sisters are true bundles of energy. However, they don’t go full throttle for the entire playing time. The musicians also allow themselves the one or other rest break. Everyone has to decide for themselves whether the band is the Rock sensation mentioned at the beginning. But the trio’s joy of playing has an infectious effect on the listener. The band is definitely an enrichment to the Rock and Metal scene.

The Warning – Six Feet Deep:


Daniela “Dany” Villarreal – Guitar, Lead Vocals, Piano
Paulina “Pau” Villarreal – Drums, Vocals, Piano
Alejandra “Ale” Villarreal – Bass, Piano, Backing Vocals

Track list:

  • Six Feet Deep
  • S!CK
  • Apologize
  • Qué Más Quieres
  • MORE
  • Escapism
  • Satisfied
  • Burnout
  • Sharks
  • Hell You Call A Dream
  • Consume
  • Automatic Sun
  • Album - 8/10
  • Cover-Art - 7/10
  • Songwriting - 9/10


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »