BURIED REALM New Single “Quicksand Memory” Ft. Christopher Amott

BURIED REALM New Single “Quicksand Memory” Ft. Christopher Amott (Dark Tranquility, ex-Arch Enemy)

Self-Titled Album Out June 3, 2022

Buried Realm, the solo project of Josh Dummer, has a new offering coming out this summer, another well composed melodic death metal album featuring several well-known guests filling out the tracks. The second single is “Quicksand Memory” featuring Christopher Amott of Dark Tranquillity and formerly Arch Enemy. He is also featured on the track “The Iron Flame”. Dummer explains the meaning behind the single:

“It encompasses the overall vibe of the album, musically. The lyrics were written about forms of dementia, time/ memory loss – not understanding where you are, or who you are at times. The thought of sudden absence is terrifying.”

Listen to “Quicksand Memory” ft. Christopher Amott (Dark Tranquillity, ex-Arch Enemy) – https://youtu.be/pVHVv3n2GYU

Dummer, who writes and performs all the music aside from drums, which are performed by Heikki Saari, says that his writing process usually stems from a riff/melody or beat. He quickly scratches tracks from what he hears to get the ideas down. Then he sorts through the files and builds them up in a DAW.

Previously, Buried Realm has released “Embodiment of the Divine” in 2020 and “The Ichor Carcinoma” in 2017. All three albums have parallels both musically and lyrically and feature some of the same guests. On this third album, the biggest difference would be much better production.

With a gamut of musical influences ranging from Opeth to Kreator to Symphony X to old-school hair metal, Buried Realm is recommended for fans of Scar Symmetry, Children of Bodom, and Nevermore.

The self-titled album will be available on June 3, 2022.

Digital pre-save – https://linktr.ee/buriedrealm

Lyric Video – Spectral Light – https://youtu.be/HCMQd5dirTE

Track Listing:
1. Entrance (2:00)
2. Spectral Light (5:00)
3. Poison Palace (5:11)
4. The Iron Flame (4:46)
5. Witch Bones (3:43)
6. Where the Armless Phantoms Glide (4:01)
7. Elder Gods (4:17)
8. Quicksand Memory (5:37)
9. He’s Back (The Man Behind the Mask) (Alice Cooper cover) (3:53)
Album Length: 38:23

Album Recording Credits:
– All songs performed by: Josh Dummer
– All songs written by: Josh Dummer
– Produced by: Josh Dummer
– Mixed by: Ronnie Björnström
– Mastered by: Ronnie Björnström
– Album Artwork by: Pär Olofsson

Album Band Line Up:
– Josh Dummer – All instruments and vocals
– Heikki Saari – Drums
Guest Performances:
– Bob Katsionis (Witch Bones)
– Christian Münzner (Poison Palace)
– Christofer Malmström (Elder Gods)
– Christopher Amott (The Iron Flame/ Quicksand Memory)
– Dan Swanö (Where the Armless Phantoms Glide)
– Dean Arnold (Spectral Light, Primalfrost)

For more info:

A true visionary is a rare thing, but such a man is Josh Dummer exemplified in his solo studio project Buried Realm. Influenced by personal experience and executed through metaphors, the progressive and heavy metal leaves room for interpretation and paints an interesting picture for listeners. 

Inspired by Opeth, Kreator, Old Man’s Child, Symphony X (and tons of old Hair Metal!), Dummer is a man who is not afraid to gaze into the abyss for music and lyrical inspiration. He describes Buried Realm’s music as ‘fierce, cutting, technical, melodic, and memorable.’

Following up on his long-time idea of releasing a solo album, he seized the chance with his first offering “Ichor Carcinoma”. Released in 2017 it features guests such as Christopher Amott (Arch Enemy, Armageddon), Peter Wichers (Soilwork), Teemu Mäntysaari (Wintersun) and Travis Montgomery (Threat Signal, Jeff Loomis band).

In 2020, Dummer released is the follow-up sophomore “Embodiment of the Divine” and while it was parallel to the first, both musically and lyrically, it took a step in a sojourn journey. It featured many guests such as Andy Gillion (Mors Principium Est), Benjamin Ellis (Scar Symmetry), Bob Katsionis (ex-Firewind), Dean Arnold (Primalfrost, Operus, ex-Vital Remains), Lee McKinney (Born of Osiris), Peter Wichers (ex-Soilwork), Rafael Trujillo (ex-Obscura), and Ryan Strain (Chaos For The Masses.

The next chapter in Dummer’s journey is the release of his third self-titled Buried Realm studio album on June 3, 2022. Once again, Dummer has invited many guests on this record with Bob Katsionis (Witch Bones), Christian Münzner (Poison Palace), Christofer Malmström (Elder Gods), Christopher Amott (The Iron Flame/ Quicksand Memory), Dan Swanö (Where the Armless Phantoms Glide) and Dean Arnold (Spectral Light, Primalfrost). The lyrical theme on this full length is about paranormal and psychological twists… mind tricks.

2022 – Buried Realm
2020 – Embodiment of the Divine
2017 – The Ichor Carcinoma