Kingfisher Sky Release Their New EP ‘Rise’

KINGFISHER SKY are back with a new EPAfter four albums and two EPs,  Kingfisher Sky have released their new EP called Rise worldwide!

Four songs about hope, love, nuance and unconditional respect for one another, or lack thereof. With a vivacious, symphonic and sometimes folky sound, this release features many aspects of the band’s diverse style. 

Rise Up, the symphonic first song, is about hope, consolation and revival. 
Rain on your Parade is a folky song about how mankind needs the Earth to exist, but the Earth does not need mankind. 

The Grey Fields, about someone who finds herself in a strange world and tries to fight her way back to her loved ones, has a cinematic and dramatic sound. 
Fool’s Anthem is a song about polarization and intolerance caused by fear and ignorance. 

Formed in 2005 by drummer Ivar de Graaf (ex-Within Temptation) and singer Judith Rijnveld, Kingfisher Sky combine influences ranging from progressive and symphonic rock to traditional folk music. The band released four full length albums, the latest being Technicoloured Eyes (2018), and an EP (To Turn the Tables, 2017). During the Covid19 lockdown in 2020 they also recorded two acoustic EPs at home: The Quarantine Sessions, featuring acoustic versions of the band’s own songs, and The Winter Sessions, featuring acoustic cover songs.
Now Kingfisher Sky is ready to present four brand new songs with their new EP Rise!

Kingfisher Sky are:

Judith Rijnveld – Vocals
Edo van der Kolk – Guitars
Ivar de Graaf – Drums
Erik van Ittersum – Keys
Nick Verschoor – Bass guitar
Maaike Peterse – Violoncello

Guest musician: Ruben Margarita – Violin

Music and lyrics written by Judith Rijnveld, Ivar de Graaf and Erik van Ittersum
Produced and arranged by Kingfisher Sky

Drums recorded at Zodiac Studio by Nathan Cairo
Mixed by Nathan Cairo at Zodiac Studio
Mastered by Pier-Durk Hogeterp at Creaudio Mastering

Ivar plays Meinl Cymbals, QSticks rods and Balbex drumsticks
Kingfisher Sky uses Steinberg Cubase

Artwork by Joke Rijnveld-Stortenbeek

Bandphoto by Danijel Mihajlovic