MALICE DIVINE Coat Empowerment In Black Metal Textures In “Everlasting Ascendancy”

Streaming Now! Toronto’s MALICE DIVINE Coat Empowerment In Black Metal Textures In “Everlasting Ascendancy”

“Everlasting Ascendancy” is the second album from Canada’s one-man black metal project Malice Divine, following up their much acclaimed self-titled debut in 2021. Able to work freely without creative impediments, Ric Galvez has poured his passion into this album and it shows. A lot of the songs have complex song structures, but there is also a lot of catchiness and melody to make this album a very memorable listen, nonetheless. He shares his excitement for the release:

“I am incredibly excited to finally have the sophomore Malice Divine album “Everlasting Ascendancy” released into the world! With this album, I am aiming to have the listener feel empowered and inspired to go after what they want in life and not settle for less. The message of Malice Divine is one of empowerment and that message can be found throughout all 8 tracks on “Everlasting Ascendancy” in some shape or form. I poured my heart and soul into this album, which will be apparent both musically and lyrically. Despite the music obviously being extreme metal, that doesn’t stop me from writing about very personal matters. All in all, I am incredibly proud of this album, and I can’t wait for everyone to hear it!”

“Everlasting Ascendancy” is a dynamic experience while also being an overall more aggressive album than the first one, especially in the vocal delivery. There are still plenty of melody and classical guitar sections, which is a major part of Malice Divine’s sound. The solos on this album are even more virtuosic than before as well.

All songs on “Everlasting Ascendancy” were written by Galvez who enlisted session drummer Dylan Gowan (Vesperia, Birds of Bellwoods, Co-Host We’re Talkin Drums, Overkill Reviewer Banger TV) to hammer them out. The album was produced and mixed by Tyler Williams (Sludgehammer, Monolithic Productions) and mastered by Jamie King (Between the Buried and Me, The Contortionist, Scale The Summit). The album artwork was done by Eka Saputra (Psychopart).

Malice Divine intends to deliver a listening experience that is highly memorable and one that will leave the listener feeling empowered and wanting to listen to it again and again. They are recommended for fans of Watain, Thulcandra, and Dissection.

Listen to “Everlasting Ascendancy” in full via its album stream premiere on MetalInsider HERE.

“Everlasting Ascendancy” will be released on January 27, 2023.

Pre-Save the album here:

Guitar Playthrough Video – Silenced Judgement –

Lyric Video – Everlasting Ascendancy

Track Listing:
1. Silenced Judgement (4:10)
2. Apparitions Of Conquest (8:22)
3. Usurping The Paragon (6:07)
4. At One With Infinity (6:06)
5. Parasitic Demons (5:39)
6. Reclaimed Strength (5:31)
7. Illusions Of Fragmentation (8:39)
8. Everlasting Ascendancy (8:10)
Album Length: 52:44

Album Recording Credits:
• All songs performed by: Malice Divine
• All songs written by: Ric Galvez
• Produced by: Tyler Williams
• Mixed by: Tyler Williams
• Mastered by: Jamie King
• Album Artwork by: Eka Saputra (Psychopart)
• Canadian Content (MAPL)

Album Band Lineup:
Ric Galvez – Vocals/Guitars/Bass
Dylan Gowan – Drums (Session)

For more info: | |

About: Toronto, Canada’s Malice Divine is a solo project conceived by Ric Galvez, who had always had the dream of being the leader of his own project. He wanted to expand beyond being known as just a lead guitarist, into also being known as a songwriter, vocalist, and frontman. Ric has played in local bands previously and was a contestant on Banger TV’s Shredders of Metal Seasons 1 & 2.

Ric has a major in music from York University, and through Malice Divine he shows off his vocal, guitar, and bass prowess. His lyrics are inspired by psychology, spirituality, as well as personal experiences that involve the overcoming of obstacles and hardships, using the resulting verses as a form of empowerment.

The second offering from Malice Divine, entitled “Everlasting Ascendancy”, will be released in early 2023. Once again it features Ric Galvez on Vocals, Guitars, & Bass, as well as Dylan Gowan (Vesperia, Banger TV) playing session drums. Malice Divine is also currently transitioning from being a solo project into being a band effort, and is set to start performing live in 2023. What people can expect from seeing Malice Divine live is highly aggressive black and death metal-inspired music, with shreddy and virtuosic guitar solos that add a melodic layer that isn’t common in the genre.

Malice Divine’s sophomore album “Everlasting Ascendancy” is set to be released on January 27th, 2023.