Factory Of Art
Back To Life
Out: June 7th, 2024
Playing time: 54:47

Factory of Art were founded in Leipzig in 1990. Great stage shows were the band’s trademark. They went on a major tour of Germany as support for Grave Digger. And concerts together with Metal greats such as Blind Guardian, Threshold, Yngwie J. Malmsteen, Gamma Ray. And they were regarded as ‘THE East German Heavy Metal hope’ (quote from the press info). Then 2006 was the end. In addition to various demos and two EPs, two albums were also released. But ‘The Tempter’ (2002) was more than twenty years ago. The reunion took place in 2019. The result has been available since June, the third album with the symbolic title ‘Back To Life’.

Spoken words as a short introduction. But the guitars soon kick in on ‘Abysses’. Then the Saxons really pick up speed. Fine Melodic Heavy Metal. And ‘Burning Wings’ continues in exactly the same vein. Riff-driven, hard but melodic in the mid-tempo range. The vocals at the beginning of ‘Blessing In Disguise’ are somewhat reminiscent of ‘Die Prinzen’, who also hail from Leipzig. But no, we are still in Heavy Metal territory. Despite all the heaviness, things are rather calm here too, with lots of keyboard passages. And the Hammond wobbles again and again. Contrary to the song title ‘Silent Room’, it gets a bit heavier again. Hard riffs. But calm again. The same goes for ‘Walking To The Place I Love’. Keyboard tapestries underlay the hard guitar riffs. But thanks to the calm, clean guitars, it’s more of a great power ballad than a Metal cracker, although subtle growls are occasionally thrown in. ‘Face Behind The Mask’ sounds a little less gloomy, as if the band had suddenly flipped the switch. The vocals alternate between raspy, clear and high Metal screams. ‘Decadence’ then goes one better. Here the rocking starts. The guitars literally gallop, the drums drive forward. Thanks to the melody and rhythm changes, the song has a progressive edge. The band also sets a fast pace on ‘The Truth’. ‘Behind The Lights’ then starts more quietly. But later on, things really take off here too. The title track ‘Back To The Life’ rounds off the album. And in what a way. Factory Of Art have saved the best for the end. Power Metal at its best!

Factory Of Art have made an impressive comeback with ‘Back To The Life’. It’s sad that it’s ‘already’ over after fifty-four minutes. We can only hope that we won’t have to wait so long again for the follow-up.

Factory Of Art – Blessing In Disguise: https://youtu.be/WGaOOyoKBeU?si=hVMv7UZOJkzd-9aJ


Jens “Petri” Petrat – Vocals
Thoralf Schulze – Guitar
Gunter Christian – Keyboards, Lead & Backing Vocals
Ronald “Ron” Losch – Bass, Backing Vocals
Ralph-Marcel “Ralle” Dietrich – Drums

Track list:

  • Abysses
  • Burning Wings
  • Blessing in Disguise
  • Silent Room
  • Walking to the Place I Love
  • Face Behind the Mask
  • Decadence
  • The Truth
  • Behind the Lights
  • Back to the Life
  • Album - 9/10
  • Cover-Art - 8/10
  • Songwriting - 9/10


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »