George Loukissas
Out: February 24th, 2024
Playing time: 55:24

George Loukissas has been a guitarist since 1998. He made his first live appearances in the UK, where he studied from 2000 to 2003. He played in various bands of different genres (including Salveo (Greek Rock), Treebute (Pop-Rock)). In 2012 he started writing and producing Heavy Metal songs. In 2018 an EP with four songs was released. (“Escape”). The concept album “Apocalypse” followed two years later. The album “Mythos” has now been available since February.

The title track “Mythos” is right at the beginning. Although, this is probably more of an overlong instrumental overture. Somehow dispensable. “Phoenix” is then the first real song. And the master really gets going. Roaring guitar riffs underlay scratchy and hectic vocals. But the chorus definitely invites you to sing along. In “Bellerophon”, the guitars bang out of the speakers. The vocals seem more pleasing than before. “Excalibur” delivers what the name promises. A narrator can be heard before the sounds of battle. Later, epic choruses and big guitar hooks set the scene – a well-done Metal anthem. “Sekhmet” then has a more doomy feel. The song rolls over the listener in a calm and solemn manner. Even “Gilgamesh” promises broadband epicness, at least in terms of the song title. And that’s exactly what you get to hear. And, as with the previous songs, the master shines with a guitar solo. In “Sun Wukong”, things continue with a high tempo and hard riffs. Later, however, it becomes calmer again, a mid-tempo stomper. “Oni (Shuten-doji)” starts with sound gimmicks and heavily distorted guitar. Epic choruses can be heard again before the guitar gallops away. The rhythmic, slightly doom-inspired “Valkyries” is another Metal anthem. The final song “Medusa” brings the album to an epic end after a piano introduction.

“Mythos” is an album full of variety. A multitude of anthemic and epic songs can be heard, along with some Doom additions. However, the vocals take some getting used to in places. George Loukissas makes up for this with some filigree guitar solos.

George Loukissas

Track list:

  • Mythos
  • Phoenix
  • Bellerophon
  • Excalibur
  • Sekhmet
  • Gilgamesh
  • Sun Wukong
  • Oni (Shuten-doji)
  • Valkyries
  • Medusa 
  • Overall Rating - 7.5/10


Disturbingly Good


Metalheads Forever is a non-profit organization. However, if you like what we do, all support is welcome.

Donate with PayPal

© 2021-2023 / Metalheads Forever Magazine / Created by Black Speech

Translate »