Oryad – Sacred & Profane

Sacred & Profane
Out: 25. May 25th, 2023
Playing time: 45:28

Oryad hail from Denver, Colorado and were founded in 2018. The band (or rather the project?) is the brainchild of singer and keyboardist Moira Murphy and drummer Matt Gotlin-Sheehan. Three singles were released between 2020 and 2021, which also found themselves on the EP “Hymns Of Exile & Decay” in the same year. A few months before the debut album “Sacred & Profane”, the single “Scorched Earth” was released.

Gloomy sounds at the beginning of the calm “The Path: Part I”. Accompanied by the enchanting operatic vocals of Moira Murphy. Very cleanly performed. With “Scorched Earth”, however, the contemplation is over. Here the riffs bang out of the boxes. Moira’s singing is not quite as high anymore, but very expressive. “Blood” starts with artful piano tones. Later the sound is extremely dangerous. The ballad “Lilith” then starts with enchanting sound gimmicks. Later, the singer lets her great voice resound again. The midtempo smash “Eve”, on the other hand, again spreads a gloomy atmosphere. Another piano introduction on “Alchemy”. Later Moira can be heard with a strong, soulful voice. “Wayfaring Stranger” is the next ballad, where the singer first accompanies herself with her e-piano, later synth strings are added. “Through The Veil” starts with strings and softly breathed spoken vocals. Later, the song is ballad-like as well. And Moira impresses again with her cleanly sung operatic soprano. “Slice Of Time”, on the other hand, really goes bang. In places a real riff storm can be heard. The circle closes with “The Path: Part II”. After the dark introduction, there is now a no less dark ending.

The album “Sacred & Profane” mostly spreads a gloomy mood. At the same time, the sound is usually very powerful. Of course, the vocals of nightingale Moira Murphy dominate everything. She puts her stamp on the album. Conclusion: A successful debut.

Oryad – Blood: https://youtu.be/H4Iqd2voyzw


Matt Gotlin-Sheehan – Drums
Moira Murphy – Vocals, Keyboards
Luca Grieman – Guitars
Adam Sanders – Songwriting (tracks 5, 8, 9)

Track list:

  • The Path: Part I
  • Scorched Earth
  • Blood
  • Lilith
  • Eve
  • Alchemy
  • Wayfaring Stranger
  • Through The Veil
  • Slice Of Time
  • The Path: Part II


Album : 9/10
Cover-Art : 8/10
Songwriting : 8/10