U.D.O. – The Legacy

The Legacy
Label: AFM Records
Out: November 18th, 2022
Playing time: 02:31:12

Thirty-five years of U.D.O. and seventieth birthday. 2022 is a very special year for Metal legend Udo Dirkschneider. And what’s the best way to celebrate such a double anniversary? Exactly, with a Best of. The result is a double album with thirty-three songs and a total playing time of more than two and a half hours. Despite everything, the little singer with the great voice surely had a hard time choosing the twenty-nine songs from the back catalogue, because this one is much longer. In addition, you can hear four rare bonus tracks. Less known but in any case just as high quality.

It would be sent owls to Athens to evaluate the individual songs again. The work of the “German Tank” is too extraordinary. With his bands and projects, he has had a significant influence on the world of Heavy Metal. Whether in studio productions or live performances. I have had the opportunity to see Udo in concert several times and have always been amazed by the singer’s energy and the quality and enthusiasm of his bandmates. Each of the seventeen (if I haven’t lost count) studio albums so far is a masterpiece. But Udo Dirkschneider is a true workaholic. In addition to his work with Accept, U.D.O., he has also launched many projects, such as recently “Dirkschneider & The Old Gang” or the collaboration with the Bundeswehr Music Corps. I don’t want to forget the 2022 solo album “My Way”, on which he covered songs that influenced his musical development.

“The Legacy” is a homage to the life’s work of Udo Dirkschneider and his band U.D.O. so far. I think many fans will own the complete discography of U.D.O.. Many of them will certainly complete their collection with this compilation. For all those whose collection is incomplete, this collection is certainly worth buying. Dear Udo, please bring us more top-class albums. And congratulations on the band’s anniversary and belated wishes for your birthday in the spring of this year.

Aktuelles Lineup:

Udo Dirkschneider – Vocals
Andrey Smirnov – Guitars
Fabian Dee Dammers – Guitars
Tilen Hudrap – Bass
Sven Dirkschneider -Drums

Track list:

Disc 1:

  • Fear Detector
  • Metal Never Dies
  • Wilder Life
  • Pandemonium
  • One Heart One Soul
  • Make The Move
  • What A Hell Of A Night
  • Pain
  • Decadent
  • Falling Angels
  • Metal Machine
  • Steelhammer 
  • Dust And Rust
  • I Give As Good As I Get
  • Rock’n’roll Soldiers
  • Dominator

Disc 2:

  • Mastercutor
  • Vendetta
  • 24/7
  • Blind Eyes
  • Man And Machine
  • Like A Lion
  • Shout It Out
  • Holy
  • Freelance Man
  • Independence Day
  • Metal Eater
  • Future Land
  • Blitz Of Lightning
  • We’re History
  • Break The Rules
  • Go Back To Hell
  • They Want War