Interview With Henrik Petersson Of Sweden’s “Screamer”

photos: (c) Tom Johansson

It’s their enthusiasm, the physically tangible intensity of their songs and their irrepressible drive that has always set Screamer apart from other acts. The Swedish band surrounding vocalist Andreas Wikström benefits no end from the group’s amazing energy in combination with the musicians’ inspiring and diverse songwriting. This rewarding mix has already produced four studio albums and one live recording since 2011. Screamer’s latest offering ‘Kingmaker’ is out on Steamhammer/SPV on 13 January 2023. As its predecessors, ‘Kingmaker’ sparkles with a wealth of songs in the catchment area of classic heavy metal, the kind that has been an integral part of our lives since the early 1980s. At the same time, Screamer skinsman Henrik Petersson promises his band’s most mature and focused album yet, saying: “‘Kingmaker’ had us refine our signature style even more and bring out the essence of our strongest fortes.” 

Screamer came together in Ljungby in 2009, a small town between Malmö and Gothenburg. Their previous studio albums, ‘Adrenaline Distractions’ (2011), ‘Phoenix’ (2013) ‘Hell Machine’ (2017) and ‘Highway Of Heroes’ (2019), saw the five-piece deliver straightforward statements featuring dynamic riffs, tasteful twin guitars, punchy grooves and deeply melodic vocals. Screamer have played well over three hundred concerts, including acclaimed shows at renowned festivals such as Headbangers Open Air, Rock Hard Open Air, Summer Breeze, Bang Your Head and Muskelrock. A representative testament to the quintet’s enthusiasm for playing live saw the light of day in January 2021: The songs on their ‘Live Sacrifice’ live album were cut during their European tour between autumn 2019 and spring 2020, with ‘Kingmaker’ now seamlessly picking up where its predecessors left off.

It was a great pleasure to have Henrik Petersson to talk on “KingMaker” the release, the plans and the future. Check out the complete the coverage on the below YouTube.

Track Listing:
01. Kingmaker 3:26
02. Rise Above 3:31
03. The Traveler 4:26
04. Hellfire 3:27
05. Chasing The Rainbow 4:15
06. Ashes And Fire 5:18
07. Burn It Down 3:23
08. Fall Of A Common Man 4:21
09. Sounds Of The Night 3:26
10. Renegade 3:45

Music Videos

The Band

Andreas Wikström – vocals
Jon Morheim – guitars
Dejan Rosić – guitars
Fredrik Svensson Carlström – bass
Henrik Petersson – drums

Photos: (c) Tom Johansson

On Socials