Death Pop Radio Release the Single and Video “I Melt For You”

Death Pop Radio Release the Single and Video “I Melt For You”, A Unique Twist on a Hit Song from Modern English

CHICAGO, IL (August 20, 2021) — Death Pop Radio announces the release of their new single “I Melt With You”, a twisted take on the 80’s mega-hit originally written and performed by Modern English. The song will be available on all major streaming services including Apple Music, Amazon Music, and Spotify on August 20, 2021. The band decided to release a studio version of this song after multiple live performances of the cover received rousing responses from audiences throughout the midwest. Death Pop Radio’s rendition shows a heavier side of the band with staccato palm muted chords followed tightly by thumping double bass drums, but yet still manages to maintain the memorable pop feel to the chorus. The repeating melody in the verses originally performed by clean guitars are replaced by distorted keys with a 4 on the floor support.

“A unique twist to a popular song that will definitely turn some heads” – Jeffrey A. Swanson / President / Dark Star Records 

“The original version of I Melt With You sounds pretty bright and happy at first listen, but there is an underlying sense of longing and obsession underneath the bubbles. This is the vibe we were trying to capture in our take.” – Dee J Nelson – Death Pop Radio


DEATH POP RADIO recently cracked the top 100 on the Billboard Mainstream Rock with their self-titled debut album via Dark Star Records. 

You can listen and purchase the Death Pop Radio debut albumat

Track Listing:
Monster TV
Rock ‘em Sock ‘em
Bitten Lips
Wake Up Drop Dead
Roses and Disdain
Knocked Down
Rat Tail
Jesus Crisis
F@#k It!
Like A Bomb (The Joy Thieves Remix)
F@#k It! (Radio Edit)
Knocked Down (Radio Edit)

Produced by Dee J Nelson Mixed by Dee J Nelson
Engineered by Dee J Nelson
Recorded at DJN Music Studio 

Death Pop Radio is:
Dee J Nelson — Guitars – Vocals/Production
Eric Liljehorn/EL Mysterioso — Vocals / Lyrics
Mike Streicher — Bass/Vocals
Jim Bluthardt — Drums

About Death Pop Radio:
DEATH POP RADIO began their journey as a song, not a band. A fun collaboration that quickly blossomed into a full blown Hard-Pop-Grunge melting pot of back stories and musical experience.

Their debut single and video, “Ravens”, had thousands of views and hits within days. DEATH POP RADIO was born and came into the world with a natural buzz within the Chicago music scene.

The band started in late 2017 when guitarist Dee J Nelson ran into lead vocalist Eric Liljehorn at a King’s-X show in Chicago. A few quick words; a potential collaboration and mutual love for all things musical. The two began working on a few of Dee J’s songs together and both could tell something right away was simply “clicking”. Shortly after the release of “Ravens” it was clear a full band was in order. In need of a name, the band started out by temporarily using the title of its flagship song “Ravens” and while the temp name stuck longer than expected the guys eventually found the name that would fit them and their unique blend of rock and grunge – DEATH POP RADIO.

Dee J and Eric were soon joined by two Chicago area veterans, drummer Jimmy B and bassist Mike Streicher. With a mixed bag rhythm section of thrashy, grunge drumming and hard rock bass added into the fray, DPR was on their way to creating their own flavor and sound. DEATH POP RADIO’s self-titled debut album was released on May 7th, 2021 and is now available worldwide through Dark Star Records. The first single from the album “Rock ’em Sock ’em” launched into the Billboard/BDS Mainstream Rock Indicator Chart top 100 at #89 and continues to climb. With their raw and driving rhythms and sing-along style hooks, Death Pop Radio’s sound sits comfortably somewhere between Kings X and White Zombie. Add in a sprinkle of industrial sound design and this black bird soars. The response has been nothing short of overwhelming… Is it the death of pop? No, it’s just Death Pop Radio!