AnimS – God Is A Witness

God Is A Witness
August 6, 2021
Playing time: 42:19

Founded by former Danger Zone and Crying Steel guitarist Francesco Di Nicola, the Italian hard ‘n’ heavy band AnimS released the debut album “God Is A Witness” in August. The project started with the intention of recording ten songs for an album release. So, they met in the traditional way in a rehearsal room in Bologna. Shortly after the song writing was finished, the then singer left the band for personal reasons. But the remaining trio continued and first recorded the instrumental tracks. Until singer Elle Noir joined the band. Now the vocal parts could also be completed and produced.

The title track “God Is A Witness” starts off straightforwardly rocking. Singer Elle Noir presents her Rock/Soul voice with recognition value. Mastermind Francesco Di Nicola intersperses a short but cracking guitar solo. “Freedom” starts with heavy riffs and melodic hooks. The singer shows again how much soul is in her voice. Powerful bass lines and accentuated drumming complete this song. And of course, the obligatory guitar solo is not missing. In “Around Me” you think you hear twin guitars. One can be quite curious about the live implementation. “Live For Somebody” brings back memories of the great stadium rock songs of the 80s, but in a modern style. This feeling is reinforced with “Bright Eyes”. Instead, “The Dancers” sounds a bit more sophisticated, but with a catchy melodic chorus.

It’s refreshing to hear an Italian band that you can’t immediately associate with this southern European country. In my opinion, the musical figurehead is clearly Elle Noir. I don’t want to belittle the performance of the other band members. They do a great job as well. “God Is A Witness” is a diamond in the rough that doesn’t get boring even after the repeated listens. An all-round successful debut.

AnimS – Like Colours of Flowers:


Elle Noir – Vocals
Elio Caia – Bass
Francesco Di Nicola – Guitars
Diego Emiliani – Drums

Track list:

  • God Is A Witness
  • Freedom
  • Around Me
  • Live For Somebody
  • Boring Lovers
  • Bright Eyes
  • Look Who’s Back
  • The Dancers
  • He Says
  • Like Colours Of Flowers
  • 8/10
    Album - 8/10
  • 8/10
    Cover Art - 8/10
  • 8/10
    Song-Writing - 8/10