Rebellion – We Are The People

We Are The People
Massacre Records
July 23rd, 2021
Playing time: 54:13

Obviously, the Power Metallers of Rebellion love to write concept albums. After the historical excursions to the ancient Saxons and into the realms of classical (Shakespearean) literature, the musicians now go back to a somewhat more recent past. This time they focus on the period from the French Revolution to after the Second World War. Unusually for Rebellion, however, there is a clear political statement here. The core message that racism and nationalism are the main reasons for wars and the thousands of people who suffer as a result is, unfortunately, still very topical. So far, however, Rebellion has always succeeded in composing music that is worth listening to and exciting, despite the concept. Let’s see if they can continue this on “We Are The People”.

War and battle chants again? Yes and no. One of the main differences to bands like Sabaton or Civil War is the critical note in lyrics and music. Thus, in the intro “Voices Of War” you actually hear voices (multilingual) and not a bombastic overture. After that, the musicians really get going with “Risorgimento (Tear Down The Walls)”. But also without bombast, but in the style of classic metal bands. The closeness to the origins (Grave Digger) cannot be ignored. Michael Seifert really sounds like Chris Boltendahl. The themes are as varied as the actual periods that have been picked out. Whether World War II or the French Revolution (“Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité”). The grievances of the respective time are mercilessly exposed. Of course, the music on “We Are The People” is not neglected either. Aggressive, driving drumming, hard riffs, rough vocals and ingenious guitar solos again and again. There are always, how can I describe it, “classic sounds of war”. You hear marching drums, marching soldiers, clatter of horses, artillery and machine gun fire, propaganda speeches. During “Vaterland”, the German national anthem – the Deutschlandlied – is played. However, the lyrics have been highly modified, as a massive critique of German megalomania, German nationalism at the time of the German Empire. Excellent riffs are then on “Ashes Of Light”. At the very end, Michael Seifert shows that he can do more than just scratchy vocals. The high Metal Screams are great. Why aren’t there more of them? Sublime riffs can be heard on “Gods Of War”. But don’t worry, this has nothing to do with the song of the same name by Manowar. Besides the last two tracks mentioned, “World War II” is one of the highlights of the album. By the way, this was written by founding member Uwe Lulis (Accept). He also took over the rhythm guitars and a solo. Even the power ballad “All In Ruins” spreads a gloomy mood.

Oh friends, not these sounds! Let us instead strike up more pleasing and more joyful ones! (From “Ode to Joy” – 9th Symphony in D minor op. 125 by Ludwig van Beethoven)

The title song “We Are The People”, placed at the very end, at least offers this positive ending. The sound is somehow more cheerful and confident. The hope for a united, democratic Europe.

“We Are The People” is probably the most ambitious, though in my opinion not necessarily the best album in Rebellion’s band history. In many places, the arrangements had to subordinate themselves to the concept. Musically, however, Rebellion still belong to the best that the German and international Metal scene has to offer. Let’s see what the band will serve up on their anniversary album.

REBELLION – World War II (Lyric Video):


Michael Seifert – Vocals
Fabrizio Costantino – Guitars
Martin Giemza – Guitars
Thomas Göttlich – Bass
Sven Tost – Drums


Uwe Lulis (Accept) – Alle Rhythmus-Gitarren und Solo bei “World War II”
Simone Wenzel (I.Am.Diamond) – Gitarrensolo bei “World War II”

Track list:

  • Voices Of War
  • Risorgimento (Tear Down The Walls)
  • Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité
  • Sweet Dreams
  • Vaterland
  • Verdun
  • Ashes To Light
  • Gods Of War
  • Shoa (It Could Have Been Me)
  • World War II
  • All In Ruins
  • We Are The People
  • 8/10
    Album - 8/10
  • 8/10
    Cover-Art - 8/10
  • 9/10
    Song-Writing - 9/10