Thunder Rising – Back To The Time Of Rock

Thunder Rising
Back To The Time Of Rock
Music For The Masses Records
March 4th, 2022 (Japan: March 31st, 2022)
Playing time: 44:37

Thunder Rising is the brainchild of guitarist Frank Caruso (Firehouse, Arachnes, Vivaldi Metal Project). The band / project delivered several albums / EPs in the past, on which a technically perfect Hard Rock sound can be heard. With “Back To The Time Of Rock”, the Italians once again start a journey back in time to the days of 70s/80s heavy metal. This promises a lot of musical enjoyment.

The Midtempo Rocker “Fate Train” starts the journey back in time to the golden age of Rock. A great guitar solo rounds up the song. The Italians increase the tempo with “Black Tiger”. A little NWoBHM feeling comes through here. It gets really Heavy Metal with “Scratch on the Hood”. Of course, a contemplative ballad also belongs to Heavy Metal / Hard Rock. This can be heard with “I’m Still Alive”. Want some Hammond organ sounds? Then enjoy “Timeless Blues”. Nomen est omen. Ingenious blues rock. This is followed by great stadium rock. “Rock From The Sky” is one of the highlights of the album for me.  Then “Don’t Be Shy” sails into Epic Doom realms. “Nameless” is an instrumental track. Here the musicians give free rein to their playfulness.  It would have been OK as a short interlude, but over the playing time of five and a half minutes, the thrill of the album cannot be held. Probably the weakest song. The Rocker “Escape From You” is much better. But I don’t understand why this is an extended version.Another highlight follows with “Labyrinth Of Spectre”.  Here I am strongly reminded of the good old Deep Purple. Especially thanks to the competition between Hammond organ and guitar (Lord vs. Blackmore says hello). And once again “Nameless”, this time with the addition “Part II”. Not better than the first part, but fortunately shorter. As a bonus for the CD you can listen to “Stairs To The Top”. Once again great stadium rock.

“Back To The Time Of Rock” mostly takes the listener back to the best years of Hard Rock. However, I can’t understand what the master was thinking with the two instrumentals. It would have been better to take them out and put the bonus on the album as a regular song. But as it is, I unfortunately have to give them a massive point deduction. The other ten songs don’t really deserve that.


Alessio Spini – Vocals
Frank Caruso – Guitars
Enzo Caruso – Keyboards , Backing Vocals
Gabriele Baroni – Bass
Corrado Ciceri – Drums

Track list:

  • Fate Train
  • Black Tiger
  • Scratches On The Hood
  • I’m Still Alive
  • Timeless Blues
  • Rock From The Sky
  • Don’t Be Shy
  • Nameless
  • Escape From You (Extended Version)
  • Labyrinth Of Spectres
  • Nameless (Part II)
  • Stairs To The Top (Only For Cd Bonus Track)
  • 7/10
    Album - 7/10
  • 8/10
    Cover Art - 8/10
  • 8/10
    Songwriting - 8/10