Wolf – Shadowland

Century Media Records
Out: April 01st, 2022
Playing time: 54:47

For more than twenty-five years they have already existed, the Swedish Hard Rockers of Wolf. Nine albums have been released with constant regularity. Only between 2014 and 2020 did the musicians take a break. Since the fourth album “The Black Flame” (2006), they have been signed to Century Media. And this successful collaboration was also continued with the current output “Shadowland”. The band line-up is obviously not quite as continuous. The only remaining founding member is singer and guitarist Niklas Stalvind. The list of former members, however, is quite long.

From the first second, the Swedes forge their Steel. “Dust” captivates precisely because of this. Merciless heaviness paired with beautiful melodies. Despite all the harshness, the songs do have hit character. Just listen to “Visions For The Blind”. “Evil Lives” tends towards speed metal. Seek The Silence” is calmer and stomping. With an ingenious guitar solo. The title track “Shadowland” again offers a balanced mixture of metallic heaviness with beautiful melodies. Niklas Stalvind screams in the style of 80s Metal. With “The Ill-fated Mr. Mordrake” the next midtempo stomper follows. And with “Exit Sign” Speed Metal returns. The regular closing song “Into The Black Hole” is only slightly slower. The bonus track “Trial By Fire” starts as a real Speed Metal grenade, but later develops into a Metal anthem.

Whether midtempo stomper, anthem or Speed Metal. Wolf always manage to put beautiful melodies in the foreground. This is sweaty power from the first to the last minute. Very good guitar work and a powerful rhythm section. This promises maximum headbanging at live gigs. If the live sound then booms out of the speakers just as fat and clear, it promises a great experience. But until then, let’s enjoy “Shadowland” from the CD.

Wolf – Dust: https://youtu.be/K3pG-baADKU

Wolf. Bilder skivsläpp. Bilder: Per Knutsson.


Niklas Stalvind – Vocals, Guitar
Simon Johansson – Guitar
Pontus Egberg – Bass
Johan Koleberg – Drums

Label: Century Media Records

Out: April 01st, 2022

Playing time: 54:47

Track list:

  • Dust
  • Visions For The Blind
  • The Time Machine
  • Evil Lies
  • Seek The Silence
  • Shadowland
  • The Ill-Fated Mr. Mordrake
  • Rasputin
  • Exit Sign
  • Into The Black Hole


  • Trial By Fire (06:06)
  • 9/10
    Album - 9/10
  • 7/10
    Cover-Art - 7/10
  • 8/10
    Songwriting - 8/10